2008 NAIA Volleyball National Championship


< back

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Volleyball National Championship will be held at the Tyson Events Center/Gateway Arena in Sioux City, Iowa on December 2-6, 2008.

Twelve teams advanced to the final site after winning their opening round match on Saturday, Nov. 22.  The top 12 teams in the tournament received a bye in the opening round.


The final 24 teams are placed into six pools and will play a round robin pool play Dec. 2-4.  The top two teams from each pool will advance to the single elimination bracket, which begins Friday, Dec. 5 and will end with the championship match on Saturday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m. (CST).


Fresno Pacific (Calif.) captured its third national title last season and is once again the favorite this season.  The Sunbirds are perfect on the season with 30-0 record and were ranked No. 1 in every Coaches' Top 25 Poll this season.


Columbia (Mo.) and Fresno Pacific have won the most titles (3) among the current NAIA members.  Both teams are making their 15th consecutive appearance in the National Championship.  California Baptist has won two titles while Azusa Pacific took home one championship.  Dickinson State, Northwood and St. Francis (Ill.) all have captured a title in the past and are not in the tournament this season.


The former NAIA members, Brigham Young-Hawaii captured the most championships with eight, while Hawaii-Hilo won five titles and National American (S.D.) won two titles.


JumpTV Inc. is the exclusive provider of live video and audio-streaming at the NAIA National Championship. JumpTV will stream the 2008 NAIA Volleyball National Championship quarterfinals, semifinals and championship matches. These events can be viewed by going to watchnaia.com or by clicking here.

<i>courtesy NAIA</i>

< back