2009 NAIA Volleyball National Championship Pool Assignments and Schedule Announced


< back


KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) have released the pool assignments and schedule for the 30th Annual NAIA Volleyball National Championship Presented by Siouxland Sports Medicine Foundation. The tournament will be held Dec. 1-5 at the Tyson Events Center/Gateway Arena in Sioux City, Iowa.

The final 24 teams are placed into six pools and will play a round robin pool play Dec. 1-3, with the top two teams from each pool advancing to the single elimination bracket starting Dec. 4. The championship match will take place at 8 p.m. (CST) on Dec. 5.

Defending national champion Fresno Pacific (32-0) has been awarded the top seed in the tournament. The Sunbirds are making their 19th trip to the National Championship and will be looking to claim their fifth national title in program history.

Three other teams in addition to Fresno Pacific have previously earned a national title: second-seeded California Baptist (2), fifth-seeded Azusa Pacific (1) and seventh-seeded Columbia (3).

Tickets for the National Championship can be purchased by calling 800-593-2228 or by clicking here.

JumpTV Inc. is the exclusive provider of live video and audio-streaming at the NAIA National Championship. JumpTV will stream the 2009 NAIA Men's and Women's Soccer and Volleyball National Championships. All of the action from Sioux City on Dec. 4 and 5 will be video-streamed live on JumpTV, a total of 11 matches. These events can be viewed by going to watchnaia.com or by clicking here.

For more information on the National Championship, click here.
For more information on the National Championship Opening Round, click here.
For complete conference tournament breakdown, click here.

National Championship Final Site Pool Play Schedule (All Times CST)

Pool A
#1 Fresno Pacific (Calif.)
#12 Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)
St. Ambrose (Iowa)

Pool B
#2 California Baptist
#11 Vanguard (Calif.)
Taylor (Ind.)
Mobile (Ala.)
Pool C
#3 Northwestern (Iowa)
#10 Biola (Calif.)
Indiana Tech
Shawnee State (Ohio)
Pool D
#4 Concordia (Calif.)
#9 Texas at Brownsville
Bellevue (Neb.)
Morningside (Iowa)
Pool E
#5 Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
#8 College of Idaho
Doane (Neb.)
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Pool F
#6 Georgetown (Ky.)
#7 Columbia (Mo.)
Lee (Tenn.)
Lubbock Christian (Texas)


courtesy NAIA.  Go to the NAIA website for more information.


< back