NCAA Announces 2009 Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament Field


< back

courtesy of the NCAA


INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Committee announced today the 64-team field for the 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship. Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 33 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.


The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top four seeds were No. 1 Pennsylvania State University; No. 2 University of Texas at Austin; No. 3 Florida State University; and No. 4 Stanford University.


The established bracketing principles of non-conference first- and second-round matchups were followed and team pairings were determined by geographical proximity.


The Pacific-10 Conference led all conferences with eight teams selected.  The Big Ten Conference and the Big 12 Conference garnered six teams each in the field while the Atlantic Coast Conference has five teams in the tournament. Two teams, Penn State and Stanford have earned bids to all 29 championships. Five teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: U.S. Military Academy, Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne, Niagara University, University of Northern Colorado and Texas Christian University.


In the 28-year history of the championship, 10 schools have been crowned champion, nine of which are in this year's bracket, including two-time defending champion Penn State.


Additional past winners making the field are Stanford (1992, 94, 96, 97, 2001, 04), University of Hawaii, Manoa (1982, 83, 87), Long Beach State University (1989, 93, 98), University of California, Los Angeles (1984, 90, 91), University of Nebraska, Lincoln (1995, 2000, and 06), University of Southern California (1981, 2002, 03), Penn State (1999, 2007), Texas (1988) and University of Washington (2005).


First- and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites.  A list of the first-round match-ups follows.

(NCAA interactive bracket)


December 4-5 at University Park, Pennsylvania

No. 1 Penn St. (32-0) vs. Binghamton (15-15)

Army (26-5) vs. Penn (22-5)

December 3-4 at Gainesville, Florida

Miami (18-12) vs. FIU (31-3)

Col. of Charleston (18-12) vs. No. 16 Florida (23-5)

December 4-5 at Columbus, Ohio

No. 9 California (18-10) vs. Lipscomb (28-3)

Cincinnati (25-10) vs. Ohio St. (24-9)

December 4-5 at Los Angeles, California

Georgia Tech (21-9) vs. Baylor (22-9)

Long Beach St. (22-8) vs. No. 8 UCLA (23-8)



December 3-4 at Champaign, Illinois

No. 5 Illinois (24-5) vs. IPFW (20-11)

Milwaukee (16-14) vs. Dayton (29-3)

December 4-5 at Los Angeles, California

Southern California (21-9) vs. Oklahoma (18-11)

New Mexico (20-9) vs. No. 12 Hawaii (27-2)

December 4-5 at Ann Arbor, Michigan

No. 13 Michigan (24-9) vs. Niagara (23-8)

Ohio (26-6) vs. Notre Dame (21-6)

December 4-5 at Stanford, California

St. Mary's (CA) (22-4) vs. UC Santa Barbara (22-7)

Long Island (21-13) vs. No. 4 Stanford (21-7)



December 5-6 at Tallahassee, Florida

No. 3 Florida St. (28-2) vs. Alabama A&M (18-10)

Florida A&M (17-9) vs. Jacksonville St. (26-7)

December 4-5 at Lexington, Kentucky

Kentucky (27-4) vs. Michigan St. (17-15)

Clemson (23-9) vs. No. 14 Oregon (19-9)

December 4-5 at Knoxville, Tennessee

No. 11 Minnesota (24-8) vs. Louisville (21-10)

Duke (27-5) vs. Tennessee (23-7)

December 3-4 at Fort Collins, Colorado

Colorado St. (23-5) vs. Middle Tenn. (25-9)

Northern Colo. (21-11) vs. No. 6 Washington (23-5)



December 4-5 at Ames, Iowa

No. 7 Iowa State (25-4) vs. George Mason (23-8)

Wichita St. (25-6) vs. St. Louis (24-7)

December 4-5 at Lincoln, Nebraska

Washington St. (18-12) vs. UNI (30-2)

Coastal Caro. (20-13) vs. No. 10 Nebraska (23-6)

December 4-5 at Baton Rouge, Louisiana

No. 15 LSU (24-6) vs. Tulane (18-9)

Arizona (19-10) vs. Texas A&M (18-10)

December 4-5 at Austin, Texas

TCU (26-6) vs. Rice (23-8)

Texas St. (22-12) vs. No. 2 Texas (24-1)


Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play December 11 and 12. The  pre-determined regional sites are Stanford, California; Gainesville, Florida; Minneapolis, Minnesota; and Omaha, Nebraska.  The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by University of South Florida and Tampa Bay Sports Commission at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, Florida, on December 17 and 19.


For more information about the tournament, log on to

For more information on the 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, Fla., go to:  



< back