Springfield Wins Molten Championship Title


< back


KENOSHA, Wis. - Springfield College has won the 2010 Molten Division III Men's Invitational Volleyball Championship, with a 3-1 win over top-seeded UC Santa Cruz.  It is the sixth Molten Championship title for Springfield, which ties the Pride for most championships in the tournament's history.

In the first set, Springfield took a 14-8 lead before UC Santa Cruz took off on a 9-0 run to take a 17-14 lead.  The Banana Slugs extended their lead to 21-16, en route to a seven-point win, 30-23.  The second set was close all the way, with neither team leading by more than three points.  The set was tied, 30-30, before the Pride won the final two points for a 32-30 decision.  The third set was more of the same, with neither team able to pull away.  Springfield finally took a 21-16 lead.  UC Santa Cruz cut the margin to two points, 24-22, but the Pride went on to win by four, 30-26.  In the fourth and final set, Springfield opened up a 10-5 lead and extended that to 25-13.  UC Santa Cruz got as close as seven points, 29-22, before the Pride put the set away at 30-22.  Springfield's Alberto Bravo had a tournament-high 24 kills and hit .250 (24-9-60), while A.J. Nally had 20 kills with a .308 attack percentage (20-8-39).  Austin Einhorn led the Banana Slugs with 13 kills and hit .478 (13-2-23. 

Springfield's Alberto Bravo was named the tournament MVP.  Teammates Eric Shoemaker and A.J. Nally were also named to the all-tournament team, along with Sal La Cavera III and Austin Einhorn from UC Santa Cruz, Randy Hansen from Carthage and Hans Schroder from Nazareth.

This is the second championship in three seasons for head coach Charlie Sullivan's Pride; they also won the title on their home court in 2008.  Springfield and Juniata College, who also has won six Molten Championship titles, have won the tournament all but two times since its inception, and they have won every Molten tournament since 2000.

For more information on the Molten Division III Men's Invitational Volleyball Championship, click on the links below:

Molten Championship Webpage

Carthage College Molten Championship Webpage


Carthage athletics contributed to this article 

< back