2007 AVCA Two-Year Colleges Player of the Year


< back

Soriana Pacheco of Western Nebraska Community College Named 2007 AVCA Two-Year Colleges Player of the Year

For a printer friendly version, click here.


LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce Western Nebraska Community College sophomore setter Soriana Pacheco as its 2007 Two-Year Colleges National Player of the Year.


Pacheco, the first Western Nebraska player to receive this award, helped lead the Cougars to a 54-2 record this season and their first-ever NJCAA Division I National Championship.  The Aragua, Venezuela native ranked among the top of NJCAA Division I with 10.82 assists per game and also ranked fourth in aces per game (1.08).  For the season, the sophomore also averaged 1.85 kills and 1.93 digs per game, while quarterbacking the Cougars' offense to a .333 team hitting percentage.


Western Nebraska entered the NJCAA Division I Tournament as the No. 5 seed, but went 4-0 during the event, completing the weekend with a 3-1 victory over Miami Dade College. Pacheco, a 2006 First Team AVCA Two-Year Colleges All-American, earned a spot on the NJCAA All-Tournament team for her play over the weekend, which included a triple-double (10 kills, 10 digs, 57 assists) performance in the championship match.


The formal presentation of the 2007 AVCA Two Year Colleges National Player of the Year will be made Dec. 15 in Sacramento, Calif. at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet. The banquet, which will take place at the Sacramento Convention Center, is held in conjunction with the 2007 AVCA Annual Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championships.

AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Players of the Year

2007: Soriana Pacheco (Western Nebraska)

2006: Juliana Paz (Iowa Western)

2005: JoAnna Kaczor (Southern Idaho)

2004: Keila Oliviera (Miami-Dade)

2003: Nevena Siljegovic (Moorpark)

2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami-Dade)

2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)

2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)

1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)

1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)

1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)

1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)

1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)

1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)

1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)

1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)

1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)

1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)

1987: Sonia Trevino (San Jacinto-Central Campus)

< back