2009 AVCA Division I-II Men's National Player of the Year


< back

2009 AVCA Division I-II Men's National Player of the Year
Paul Carroll - Pepperdine University


LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 6, 2009) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that Pepperdine University senior right side/opposite Paul Carroll has been named 2009 AVCA Men's Division I-II National Player of the Year.

The presentation was made at the NCAA National Collegiate Men's Volleyball Championship Banquet on the campus of Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. The banquet was held in conjunction with the NCAA National Collegiate Men's Volleyball Championship, to be played May 7 and 9 in the George Albert Smith Fieldhouse on BYU's campus.

Carroll, a native of Forster, Australia, was instrumental in leading Pepperdine to a 22-5 overall record, the No. 2 seed in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) Tournament and a runner-up finish at the event. In the MPSF semifinals, Carroll torched Cal State Northridge for 33 kills and bettered that with a career-high-tying 37 kills in the championship match against Southern California, en route to earning Tournament MVP honors.

In addition to being named AVCA Men's Division I-II National Player of the Year, Carroll is now a three-time AVCA All-American, having earned First-Team laurels in each of the past three seasons. He also earned the distinction of being named the MPSF Player of the Year, is a four time All-MPSF nominee and was selected the Sports Imports/AVCA Men's Division I-II National Player of the Week an incredible five times during his career. This season, Carroll became just the fourth Wave in program history to eclipse the 2,000 kill plateau and now stands at third all-time with 2,101 career kills. In addition, the 661 kills he smashed this year breaks his own school single-season record for the rally-scoring era.

Carroll has been consistently ranked among the nation's elite in several statistical categories in 2009, with his 6.36 kills per game average leading the nation for the second consecutive season. The talented product for the Waves has also turned in a very efficient .392 season hitting percentage, in addition to racking up 2.05 digs, 1.05 blocks and 0.30 aces per game.

The 6'8" sparkplug becomes the sixth men's volleyball athlete in Pepperdine history to be named AVCA National Player of the Year and is the third Wave in the past five years to earn the award.

AVCA Division I-II Men's National Player of the Year
2009: Paul Carroll (Pepperdine)
2008: Matt Anderson (Penn State), Paul Lotman (Long Beach State)
2007: Jonathan Winder (Pepperdine)
2006: Jayson Jablonsky (UC Irvine)
2005: Sean Rooney (Pepperdine)
2004: Carlos Moreno (BYU)
2003: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)
2002: Brad Keenan (Pepperdine)
2001: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)
2000: Donald Suxho (USC)
1999: George Roumain (Pepperdine)
1998: George Roumain (Pepperdine)
1997: Ivan Contreras (Penn State)
1996: Yuval Katz (Hawai'i), Stein Metzger (UCLA)
1995: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)
1994: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)
1993: Canyon Ceman (Stanford)
1992: Brent Hilliard (Long Beach State)
1991: Bryan Ivie (USC)

< back