Stanford setter Kawika Shoji named DI-II National Player of the Year


< back


PALO ALTO, Calif. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that Stanford University setter Kawika Shoji has been named 2010 AVCA Men's Division I-II National Player of the Year.


The presentation was made at the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship Banquet on the campus of Stanford University in Palo Alto, Calif. The banquet was held in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship, to be played May 6 and 8 at Maples Pavilion on Stanford's campus.


Shoji, a native of Honolulu, Hawai'i, played an integral role in leading Stanford to a 22-6 record, Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) regular season and tournament titles and the No. 1 seed heading into this weekend's NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship semifinals, where it will face-off against No. 4 seed Ohio State.


In addition to being named AVCA Men's Division I-II National Player of the Year, Shoji is now a three-time AVCA All-American, having garnered First-Team honors for the past two seasons and Second-Team laurels in 2008. He also earned All-MPSF honors a quartet of times and holds the Cardinal's single-season record for assists after the rally scoring era (1,394). In his four years in a Stanford uniform, Shoji has accumulated 4,376 assists, 796 digs, 452 kills and 104 service aces, while leading the Cardinal from a 3-25 record as a freshman to a national contender in 2010.


The senior sat among the nation's elite in several statistical categories in 2010, with his 13.78 assists and 2.46 digs per game averages ranking among the top in the country. The Cardinal's leader on the floor, Shoji also helped the Stanford offense secure the nation's best team hitting percentage (.352).


Shoji becomes just the second Cardinal to be named AVCA National Player of the Year, as Canyon Ceman was the last Stanford player to earn the distinction at the culmination of the 1993 season.


AVCA Division I-II Men's National Player of the Year
2010: Kawika Shoji (Stanford)

2009: Paul Carroll (Pepperdine)

2008: Matt Anderson (Penn State),

          Paul Lotman (Long Beach State)

2007: Jonathan Winder (Pepperdine)

2006: Jayson Jablonsky (UC Irvine)

2005: Sean Rooney (Pepperdine)

2004: Carlos Moreno (BYU)

2003: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)

2002: Brad Keenan (Pepperdine)

2001: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)

2000: Donald Suxho (USC)

1999: George Roumain (Pepperdine)

1998: George Roumain (Pepperdine)

1997: Ivan Contreras (Penn State)

1996: Yuval Katz (Hawai'i)

          Stein Metzger (UCLA)

1995: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)

1994: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)

1993: Canyon Ceman (Stanford)

1992: Brent Hilliard (Long Beach State)

1991: Bryan Ivie (USC)

< back