2005 AVCA Two-Year College Player of the Year


< back

JoAnna Kaczor of the College of Southern Idaho Named AVCA Two-Year College Player of the YearSM

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to College of Southern Idaho freshman outside hitter JoAnna Kaczor as its 2005 Two-Year College National Player of the YearSM.

Kaczor, a native of Wroclaw, Poland, was named National Junior College Athletic Association Division I National Tournament most valuable player as the Golden Eagles won the national title. She was named first team all-region after averaging 4.96 kills, 2.52 digs, 0.52 digs and 0.73 service aces per game.

"I think JoAnna is one of the top players to ever play at the junior college level," Southern Idaho Head Coach Ben Stroud said. "She has great size, smarts and power. Everything she does, she does well. This is tremendous honor for her and for our program."

Southern Idaho finished the season 50-2 and won its eighth NJCAA Division I National Championship on Nov. 21 by beating Miami-Dade College 3-0. The Golden Eagles won a share of the Science West Athletic Conference title after going 9-1 in conference play. Kaczor, who has signed a letter of intent to play with the University of Southern California, is the seventh Golden Eagle to receive the national award and the first since Stephanie Martin in 2000.

The formal presentation of the 2005 AVCA Two Year College National Player of the YearSM will be made Dec. 16 in San Antonio at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year BanquetSM. The banquet, which will take place at the Marriott Rivercenter Hotel, is held in conjunction with the 2005 AVCA Annual Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship.

AVCA Two-Year College National Players of the YearSM
2005: JoAnna Kaczor (Southern Idaho)
2004: Keila Oliviera (Miami-Dade)
2003: Nevena Siljegovic (Moorpark)
2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami-Dade)
2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)
2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)
1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)
1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)
1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)
1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)
1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)
1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)
1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)
1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)
1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)
1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)
1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)
1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)
1987: Sonia Trevino (San Jacinto-Central Campus)

< back