2004 AVCA Two-Year College Player Of The Year


< back


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce Miami-Dade College sophomore setter Keila Oliviera as its 2004 AVCA Two-Year College National Player of the Year.

Oliviera was named to the AVCA Two-Year College All-America First-Team, the Florida Community College Activities Association All-State Team and All-Region Team. The two-year starter was honored as the National Junior College Athletic Association Tournament most valuable player as the Lady Sharks won the national tournament. Oliviera, the 2004 FCCAA Player of the Year, averaged 11.23 assists, 2.02 kills, 1.56 aces, 3.05 digs and 0.45 blocks while hitting .501 this season. She notched career numbers of 2,158 assists, 307 kills, 221 aces, 592 digs, 96 blocks and amassed a .433 hitting percentage.

"Keila has been a sound, solid and mature setter throughout her career," Miami-Dade Head Coach Ilida Medero said. " She always provided the energy we needed. Keila is a hard worker and her effort in practice carried over into our matches and made us a better team this (2004) season. Her biggest strength is to see the whole court and keep everyone involved. She is like a second coach on the floor."

Miami-Dade finished the 2004 season with a 32-0 mark and won its sixth NJCAA Division I National Championship on Nov. 24 by defeating Salt Lake Community College 3-1. The Lady Sharks also won the FCCAA Southern Conference and FCCAA State titles this season. The Lady Sharks have notched a 66-1 record in Oliviera's two years at Miami-Dade.

The formal presentation of the award to the 2004 AVCA National Players of the Year will be made Dec. 17 in Long Beach, Calif., at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year banquet. The banquet, which will take place at the Long Beach Westin Hotel, is held in conjunction with the 2004 AVCA Annual Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship.

AVCA Two-Year College National Players of the Year
2004: Keila Oliviera (Miami-Dade)
2003: Nevena Siljegovic (Moorpark)
2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami-Dade)
2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)
2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)
1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)
1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)
1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)
1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)
1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)
1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)
1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)
1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)
1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)
1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)
1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)
1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)
1987: Sonia Trevino (San Jacinto-Central Campus)

< back