2003 AVCA Two-Year College Player of the Year


< back

Moorpark College's Nevena Siljegovic Named AVCA Two-Year College Player of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce Moorpark College (Calif.) sophomore setter Nevena Siljegovic as its 2003 AVCA Two-Year College National Player of the Year.

Siljegovic was named to the AVCA Two-Year College All-America First-Team and the Southern California All-State Team for the second consecutive year. She averaged 3.66 kills, 0.96 aces, 3.34 digs and 7.00 assists per game in 2003. Siljegovic earned her second consecutive Western State Conference North Division most valuable player award as she hit .388 with averages of 3.2 kills, 2.58 digs and 0.56 aces per game in divisional play. She has signed a letter-of-intent to play for University of Southern California starting with the 2004 season.

"Nena has accomplished everything a two-year college player can accomplish," Moorpark College Head Coach Steve Burkhart said. "She has been a leader, motivator, mentor and joy to coach. We all look forward to her next two years at USC."

Moorpark finished the 2003 season with a 17-4 overall mark and ranked sixth in the final California Community Colleges Women's Volleyball Top 25 Poll. The Raiders won the Western State North Division with a 9-1 record and reached the Elite Eight round of the California Community Colleges Tournament for the second consecutive season (fourth and fifth place finishes, respectively). Moorpark compiled a 38-6 record during Siljegovic's two seasons with the team.

The formal presentation of the award to the 2003 AVCA National Players of the Year will be made Dec. 19 in Dallas at the AVCA All-America/Player of the Year banquet. The banquet, which will take place at the Dallas Wyndham Anatole Hotel, is held in conjunction with the 2003 AVCA National Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship.

AVCA Two-Year College National Players of the Year
2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami-Dade)
2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)
2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)
1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)
1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)
1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)
1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)
1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)
1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)
1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)
1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)
1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)
1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)
1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)
1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)
1987: Sonia Trevino (San Jacinto-Central Campus)

< back