2009 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year


< back

Christina Cahoon - University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh


CLEVELAND, Ohio - University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh libero Christina Cahoon has been named the 2009 Nfinity/American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Division III National Player of the Year. The award was announced this evening at the 2009 NCAA Division III Championship awards banquet in Cleveland, Ohio, which was held in conjunction with the NCAA Division III Championship, to be held November 19-21 on the campus of John Carroll University.


The junior defensive whiz is coming off a brilliant performance in last week's NCAA Division III Midwest Regional where she was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player, after helping the Titans capture their second regional championship in as many seasons.  


Entering this weekend's NCAA national quarterfinals, Cahoon leads the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) and is nationally-ranked in digs per set, scooping up an average of 6.11 balls per stanza.  Cahoon has racked up 862 digs thus far and also possesses a strong serve, leading the squad in service aces with 46 on the season.


With offensive stars typically making the headlines, Cahoon's efforts have not gone unnoticed. She is a two-time AVCA Division III First-Team All-America selection, a two-time All-WIAC First-Team selection and has twice landed a spot on the All-WIAC Defensive Team. For her career, the Watertown Wis. native has amassed 2,136 digs and 161 service aces.


Cahoon's contributions have aided Wisconsin-Oshkosh's recent successes in the Division III volleyball world. The Titans, who own a 38-2 record to date, have compiled a total of 110 wins and have only suffered 11 losses since Cahoon first donned a jersey three seasons ago. With Cahoon anchoring the back row, Wisconsin-Oshkosh turned in its first perfect conference mark (8-0) since 1990 and captured its second consecutive (10th overall) WIAC title in 2009.


Cahoon and the Titans will face-off against Christopher Newport University Thursday as they begin the hunt for their first national championship.


Nfinity/AVCA Division III National Players of the Year
2009 Christina Cahoon, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
2008 Amber Thomas, Juniata College
2007 Amber Thomas, Juniata College
2006 Stephanie Kines, Juniata College
2005 Courtney Rose, Emory University
2004 Carli Dale, Juniata College
2003 Amy Smith, University of La Verne
2002 Rebecca Rotello, Washington University
2001 Allison Erickson, Wisconsin-Whitewater
2000 Candace Wilson, Central College
1999 Abbie Brown, Central College
1998 Abbie Brown, Central College
1997 Jennifer Martz, Washington University
1996 Amy Ward, Wisconsin-Oshkosh
1995 Shelley Swan, Washington University
1994 Amy Albers, Washington University
1993 Amy Albers, Washington University
1992 Lisa Becker, Washington University
        Anastasia Nikas, Stony Brook University
1991 Elizabeth Tan, UC San Diego
1990 Kathy Bersett, Washington University
1989 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University
1988 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University
1987 Janet Hughes, UC San Diego
1986 Anne Westerkamp, Benedictine University
1985 Sherri Petrick, Benedictine University





< back