AVCA Announces Thirty Under 30 Recipients


< back



LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce its Thirty Under 30 Awards. This award was created in 2009 to honor up-and-coming coaching talent at all levels of the sport.  To qualify for the award nominees had to be younger than 30 years old in 2010. The list of winners will be featured in the upcoming April/May edition of Coaching Volleyball magazine.


"The most exciting thing about this award is how difficult it is getting to select just 30 winners from the hundreds of nominations," said AVCA Executive Director, Kathy DeBoer. "Congratulations to this outstanding class.  The future of our sport is in good hands."    


Of the thirty recipients, 18 are head coaches and 12 are assistant coaches. Eight are NCAA Division I women's coaches, four coach NAIA women's squads, three are NCAA Division II women's coaches, three are NCAA Division III women's coaches, two are club coaches, two are from Two-Year Colleges, two coach high school girls programs, one is a high school boys coach and one is an NAIA men's coach.


Also, one of the recipients doubles-up a club coach, while one is the head coach of both the men's and women's teams at the Division III level.  Five of this year's recipients - Casey Dale (2010), Coley Pawlikowski (2009), Barrett Schitka (2010), Lauren Steinbrecher (2009) and Erin Virtue (2010) - are repeat recipients, while Giovana Melo has received the award in each of the three years since the program's inception.


Thirty Under 30 Award Recipients


Ashley Allen, Head Coach

Henry M. Jackson High School, Mill Creek, WA (High School)


Tanya Allen, Head Coach

Frank Phillips College, Borger, TX (NJCAA Division I)


Lauren Amundson, Head Coach

Stonehill College, Easton, MA (NCAA Division II)


Matthew Buttemore, Assistant Coach

Bellevue University, Bellevue, NE (NAIA)


Andy Cole, Assistant Coach

Lewis University (Women's and Men's), Romeoville, IL (NCAA Division II)


Matthew Cribbin, Head Coach

Sarah Lawrence College, Bronxville, NY (4-Year Independent)


Casey Dale, Head Coach

Transylvania University, Lexington, KY (NCAA Division III)


Sloane Dill, Club Director/Head Coach

Lower Hudson Volleyball Association, Mount Vernon, NY (NCAA Division I)


Bill Gleeson, Head Coach

St. Ambrose University (Men's), Davenport, IA (NAIA)


Anna Monsen Howle, Head Coach

Oklahoma Baptist University, Shawnee, OK (NAIA)


Haley Janicek, Head Coach

Austin Peay State University, Clarksville, TN (NCAA Division I)


Joseph Lind, Assistant Coach

Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, TX (NCAA Division I)


Daniel Mahy, Assistant Coach/Head Coach

Florida Gulf Coast University, Ft. Myers, FL / USA South Volleyball Club (NCAA Division I/Club)


Giovana Melo, Head Coach

Western Nebraska Community College, Scottsbluff, NE (NJCAA Division I)


Robert Mullowney, Head Coach

US Coast Guard Acad. (Women's)/Wentworth Inst. of Tech. (Men's), Allston, MA (NCAA Division III)


Shellane Ogoshi, Head Coach

Long Island University - CW Post, Brookville, NY (NCAA Division II)


Coley Pawlikowski, Assistant Coach

Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL (NCAA Division I)


Malama Peniata, Assistant Coach

St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud, MN (NCAA Division II)


Randi Raff, Assistant Coach

Christopher Newport University, Newport News, VA (NCAA Division III)


Roberta Santos, Assistant Coach

University of Texas at Brownsville, Brownsville, TX (NAIA)


Barrett Schitka, Head Coach and Program Coordinator

Kitchener-Waterloo Predators Volleyball Club (Boys and Girls), Ontario, Canada (Club)


Krissy Schmidt, Head Coach

Martin County High School, Stuart, FL (High School)


Keith Schunzel, Assistant Coach

University of North Texas, Denton, TX (NCAA Division I)


Kirsta Solberg, Head Coach

Indiana Institute of Technology, Ft. Wayne, IN (NAIA)


Robert St. Leger, Head Coach

Marist High School (Boys), Chicago, IL (High School)


Lauren Steinbrecher, Head Coach

James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA (NCAA Division I)


Erin Virtue, Assistant Coach

University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH (NCAA Division I)


Kyle Weindel, Assistant Coach

Ohio University, Athens,OH (NCAA Division I)


Nick Wolf, Associate Club Director/Head Coach

Indy Juniors Volleyball Club, Indianapolis, IN (Club)             


Michele Zabinski, Head Coach

De Sales University, Center Valley, PA (NCAA Division III)


< back