2010 AVCA Division II National Player of the Year


< back

Samantha Middleborn - California State University San Bernardino


LEXINGTON, Ky. (Dec. 1, 2010) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that California State University San Bernardino junior middle blocker Samantha Middleborn has been named the 2010 AVCA Division II National Player of the Year.


Middleborn, a native of Rialto, Calif., has helped keep Cal State San Bernardino in the hunt for its first national title all year, as the squad has posted a 28-2 overall record and is currently riding a 15-match win streak.  The Coyotes have been ranked in the top-eight of the AVCA Division II Coaches Top 25 Poll the entire length of the season, and currently sit at No. 6 entering this weekend's NCAA quarterfinals.  In her three seasons wearing a CSUSB jersey, Middleborn and the Coyotes have compiled an impressive 91-8 record, made three appearances in the NCAA quarterfinals, ending the 2008 campaign as the national runners-up.


With Middleborn's help, Cal State San Bernardino turned in a nearly perfect 21-1 record against California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) foes and secured its fifth consecutive CCAA title in 2010. Middleborn was tabbed the CCAA Player of the Year, as a result, marking the third time in the past four seasons that a Coyote athlete has taken home the award.


Middleborn led the nation in hitting percentage, attacking for a sizzling .485 clip, while contributing 2.88 kills and 3.91 points per set. Defensively, the rock in the middle was an integral part of the Coyotes' success this season, as she averaged 1.20 blocks per set to lead all CCAA athletes, in addition to firing off a team-high 28 service aces.


In addition to being named the AVCA Division II National Player of the Year, Middleborn is a two-time AVCA All-American, earning First-Team accolades this season and landing a spot on the Second-Team in 2009. Middleborn has also garnered First-Team All-CCAA honors in each of her last two seasons as a Coyote.


The formal presentation of the 2010 AVCA Division II National Player of the Year will be made Dec. 17 in Kansas City, Mo., at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet presented by Zamst. The banquet, which will take place at the Kansas City Convention Center, is held in conjunction with the 2010 AVCA Annual Convention.


Division II AVCA National Players of the Year
2010: Samantha Middleborn, Cal State San Bernardino
2009: Maggie McNamara, Concordia-St. Paul
2008: Maggie McNamara, Concordia-St. Paul
2007: Vicky Braegelmann, Minnesota Duluth
2006: Vicky Braegelmann, Minnesota Duluth; Li YiZhi, Lock Haven
2005: Erin Gudmundson, Univ. of Nebraska-Kearney
2004: Brianna Harris, Cal State San Bernardino
2003: Kim Morohunfola, Cal State San Bernardino
2002: Erin Deffenbaugh, Northern Colorado
2001: Shauna Sturm, South Dakota State
2000: Kari Peterson, Augustana (S.D.)
1999: Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M
1998: Melinda Almazan, Regis
1997: Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M
1996: Liu Jun, Northern Michigan
1995: Liu Jun, Northern Michigan
1994: Christy Wieneke, Cal State Bakersfield
1993: Stacey Metro, Northern Michigan
1992: Stacey Metro, Northern Michigan
1991: Ana Cristina Pereira, West Texas A&M
1990: Becky Belland, Central Missouri State
1989: Sheri Benson, UC Riverside
1988: Janet Cobbs, North Dakota State
1987: Angela Brinton, Cal State-Northridge
1986: Annie Kniss, UC Riverside
1985: Lynda Johnson, Portland State

< back