2010 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year


< back

Amelia McCall - Emory University


St. Louis, Mo. (November 18, 2010). - Emory University outside hitter Amelia McCall has been named the 2010 American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Division III Player of the Year. The award was announced this evening at the NCAA Division III Championship awards banquet in St. Louis, Mo., which was held in conjunction with the 2010 NCAA Division III Championship, to be held November 19-21 on the campus of Washington University.


McCall's senior season has been her most brilliant to date. Thus far, the sparkplug has smashed 444 kills, in addition to tallying 376 digs, 56 blocks and 34 service aces for Emory. She has helped the Eagles ascend to the No. 1 ranking in the AVCA Division III Coaches Top 25 Poll, a spot the squad currently maintains.


Entering this weekend's NCAA national quarterfinals, McCall is ranked among the highly-competitive University Athletic Association's (UAA) leaders in kills per set, pounding down an average of 3.44 bombs per stanza. She also boasts an efficient .301 hitting percentage and averages 2.91 digs and nearly 0.5 blocks per set, making her an all-around performer for veteran head coach Jenny McDowell.


The Montgomery, Ala. native's efforts in keeping Emory a perennial Division III power have not gone unnoticed. She is a two-time First-Team All-UAA performer, the reigning UAA Most Valuable Player, was named to the recent NCAA Atlanta Regional All-Tournament Team and earned her first-ever AVCA All-America honor as a First-Team selection earlier this week.


For her career, McCall, who missed her entire freshman season due to a knee injury, has amassed 1,008 kills, while totaling 569 digs, 143 blocks and 53 service aces to date. She has helped Emory to a 103-16 overall record as an active member of the team, and was a contributing factor when the Eagles brought home a national title in 2008.


McCall and Emory will face-off against Christopher Newport University on Friday as they begin the hunt for the program's second national title.


AVCA Division III National Players of the Year
2010 Amelia McCall, Emory University

2009 Christina Cahoon, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

2008 Amber Thomas, Juniata College

2007 Amber Thomas, Juniata College

2006 Stephanie Kines, Juniata College

2005 Courtney Rose, Emory University
2004 Carli Dale, Juniata College
2003 Amy Smith, University of La Verne
2002 Rebecca Rotello, Washington University in St. Louis
2001 Allison Erickson, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
2000 Candace Wilson, Central College
1999 Abbie Brown, Central College
1998 Abbie Brown, Central College
1997 Jennifer Martz, Washington University in St. Louis
1996 Amy Ward, Wisconsin-Oshkosh
1995 Shelley Swan, Washington University in St. Louis
1994 Amy Albers, Washington University in St. Louis
1993 Amy Albers, Washington University in St. Louis
1992 Lisa Becker, Washington University in St. Louis
        Anastasia Nikas, Stony Brook University
1991 Elizabeth Tan, UC San Diego
1990 Kathy Bersett, Washington University in St. Louis
1989 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University in St. Louis
1988 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University in St. Louis
1987 Janet Hughes, UC San Diego
1986 Anne Westerkamp, Benedictine University
1985 Sherri Petrick, Benedictine University





< back