2010 AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Player of the Year


< back



Roslandy Acosta - Cowley County Community College


LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce Cowley County Community College sophomore setter/opposite Roslandy Acosta as its 2010 AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Player of the Year.


Acosta, the first Cowley County player to receive this award, helped guide the Tigers to a 35-4 record this season and a third-place showing in the NJCAA Division II National Championship, which marked the squad's sixth consecutive top-five NJCAA Tournament finish.  In her two years in  a Cowley County jersey, Acosta helped the program rack up an impressive 67-9 record, as the squad was also the NJCAA-II runners-up a season ago.


In the NJCAA Division II Tournament semifinals, Acosta smashed 20 kills and added 22 assists in a tough five-set loss to Johnson County Community College. She continued her stellar play with 15 kills and 15 assists a 3-1 victory over Glendale Community College in the event's third-place match. She has twice been named to the championship's all-tournament team.


Acosta helped the Tigers to a league championship with a 9-1 record in the East Division of the Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference, and, as a result, the sophomore phenom was named the Jayhawk East's Most Valuable Player for the second straight year. In addition, Acosta was tabbed a First-Team AVCA Two-Year Colleges All-America selection for her accomplishments on the court and was dubbed an NJCAA-Division II First-Team All-American, as well.


The formal presentation of the AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Player of the Year will be made Dec. 17 in Kansas City, Mo., at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet presented by Zamst, held in conjunction with the 2010 AVCA Annual Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championships.



AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Players of the Year

2010: Roslandy Acosta (Cowley County)

2009: Yiting Cao (Illinois Central)

2008: Kayla Schmidt (Blinn)

2007: Soriana Pacheco (Western Nebraska)

2006: Juliana Paz (Iowa Western)

2005: JoAnna Kaczor (Southern Idaho)

2004: Keila Oliviera (Miami-Dade)

2003: Nevena Siljegovic (Moorpark)

2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami-Dade)

2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)

2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)

1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)

1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)

1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)

1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)

1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)

1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)

1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)

1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)

1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)

1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)

1987: Sonia Trevino (San Jacinto-Central Campus)


< back