2010 AVCA National High School Coaches of the Year


< back

. (Nov. 30, 2010) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that Bill Morrin, head girls' volleyball coach at Grantsburg High School in Grantsburg, Wis., and Amy Steininger, head girls' volleyball coach at Marion Local High School in Maria Stein, Ohio, have been selected as the 2010 AVCA National High School Coaches of the Year.


"Bill Morrin and Amy Steininger not only had outstanding seasons in 2010, they have stacked a bunch of great seasons on top of each other," said AVCA Executive Director Kathy DeBoer. "Building a program is hard; sustaining a program is much harder. They have, between them, many years of sustained excellence."


Morrin has been coaching at Grantsburg for 25 years, a time during which his program has strung together 22 consecutive conference championships, 17 consecutive regional championships and 14 sectional championships. He has marched Grantsburg to the state tournament 11 times, which has resulted in five runner-up finishes (1989, 1998, 2003, 2008, 2010) and two state titles (2001, 2009). He has amassed a career record of 841-84 in his 29 seasons as a head coach, which included an impressive 36-1 mark this season. Prior to his time at Grantsburg, Morrin coached at Webster High School from 1984-86, guiding the team to state championships in both 1985 and 1986. He began his coaching career at Washburn High School, where he led the program to the state tournament in just his first season at the helm.


In her eight years as the taskmaster at Marion Local, Steininger holds a career mark of 185-29. In 2010, her squad rolled to a 24-2 record, which included a perfect 9-0 mark in Midwest Athletic Conference matches, allowing the team to capture its third conference championship under her mentorship (2007, 2009, 2010). Steininger led Marion Local to three consecutive Ohio Division IV state championships from 2007-09, putting together a remarkable 82-4 record during that three-year stretch. She has built an extensive list of accolades for her work on the court, which includes: three Midwest Athletic Conference Coach of the Year selections, three Ohio District VIII Coach of the Year honors and four Ohio Division IV Coach of the Year awards. She has also served as a coach for Team Atlantis Volleyball Club for 10 years.


Morrin and Steininger were selected from an outstanding group of nominees, which included: Kari Bensend (Texas), Stephanie Bloom (Indiana), Tanya Bond (Colorado), Jill Christensen (South Dakota), Kelly Drobek (California), Dale Grupe (Kentucky), Yasmin Ortiz (Florida), Lisa Pawlik (Indiana), Brian Rosen (North Carolina), Tad Sahara (Georgia) and Jodi Webster (Indiana).


The AVCA will formally present the National High School Coach of the Year awards to Morrin and Steininger at the 2010 Jostens Coaches Honors Luncheon in Kansas City, Mo., on Thursday, December 16.  The luncheon is held in conjunction with the 2010 AVCA Annual Convention.


As a result of winning AVCA National Coach of the Year honors, Morrin and Steininger will lead Team Swagger and Team Shatter in the third-annual Under Armour All-America Volleyball Match & Skills Competition, Saturday, December 18 at the Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City.  Tickets for the Under Armour All-America Volleyball Match & Skills Competition are on sale now through Ticketmaster (http://www.ticketmaster.com/).

< back