AVCA Selects Teams, Joins with CBSSN for Sand Championships


< back


AVCA Announces Participants for the 2012 Collegiate Sand Volleyball National Championships and Partnership with CBS Sports Network 


Lexington, KY - The AVCA National Championship Selection Committee announced last night that Pepperdine, Florida State University, Long Beach State University, and College of Charleston have been selected to compete in the first Collegiate Sand Volleyball National Championship.  The event will be held in Gulf Shores, Alabama, April 27-29 and will also feature a sixteen team Pairs Championship. The Pairs competition includes the top doubles team from the University of Southern California, the University of Hawai'i, Florida Atlantic University, the University of Alabama-Birmingham, the University of North Florida and Stetson University, as well as the number one and two duos from the schools in the team championship.  Teams and pairs were selected based on results from the first collegiate season of competition which began in March.

CBS Sports Network will televise portions of the competition in two hour-long specials. Part 1 of their coverage will air beginning on Wednesday, June 6 at 9 PM EST and Part 2 will begin airing on Wednesday, June 13, also at 9 PM EST.  

"When we joined with CBS Sports Network in 2005 to create the first-ever collegiate sand volleyball championship, this day was just a distant dream.  It's exciting that this partnership continues," said AVCA Executive Director, Kathy DeBoer.  "Once the NCAA voted to make sand volleyball an emerging sport, we could see the potential was unlimited.  This field is deep, with good geographical representation.  These two championships will showcase the high level of play that is already part of the collegiate landscape. "

A group of community partners including the Gulf Coast Region of USA Volleyball, the Gulf Shores and Orange Beach Convention and Visitors Bureau, and several local businesses combined to win the bid to host the first Collegiate Sand National Championships in Gulf Shores, Alabama. "On the Northern Gulf Coast we have the best beaches in the world for volleyball," said Philip Bryant, Commissioner of the Gulf Coast Region. "Plus, we have a passion for the sport and are excited to share our great community with the college sand volleyball teams, their families and fans.  Our goal is to make this a destination for them now and in the future!"

The Team Championship will be held on Saturday, April 28.  Each of the four schools will field five doubles teams ranked in order.  The schools will compete in dual matches in which the winner is the team capturing three of the five flights.  Play will start at 11 a.m. CT on five championship courts that have been constructed specifically for this event.  Teams will battle in a double elimination format with duals scheduled on the hour, and the final matchup scheduled to begin at 5 p.m. CT.

The Pairs Championship will consist of sixteen doubles teams engaged in pool play on Friday, April 27 from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. CT.  The results of that play will determine the seeding of the 16 pairs into a single elimination tournament on Sunday, April 29.  First round matches will start at 8 a.m., with quarter finals scheduled for 9 a.m.  Both semi-finals and the championship match will be held on center court, beginning at 11 a.m., and will be covered in depth by CBS Sports Network.    


Team Championship:

1. Pepperdine

2. Florida State

3. Long Beach State

4. College of Charleston

Pool 1

Newgard/Tiegs - Florida State University

Croson/Lee - University of Hawai'i

Hampton/Fontanilla - Long Beach State University

Shelton/Kolich - College of Charleston


Pool 2

Racich/Ross - Pepperdine

Burnham/Irvin - University of Southern California

Tate/Pizzoccheri - Florida Atlantic University

Gallagher/Thomas - UAB


Pool 3

Ledoux/Roenicke - Long Beach State University

Frederick/Hill - Pepperdine

Chubb/Theesfeld - College of Charleston

Melville/Bassett - Stetson University


Pool 4

Urango/Shaw - University of Southern California

Pardon/Stepanova - Florida State University

Stoltzman/Hartong - University of Hawai'i

Medina/Strack - University of North Florida

< back