2011 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year


< back



Rebecca Kamp - Calvin College 


St. Louis, Mo. (November 18, 2011) - Calvin College middle blocker Rebecca Kamp has been named the 2011 American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Division III Player of the Year. The award was announced this evening at the NCAA Division III Championship awards banquet in St. Louis, Mo., which was held in conjunction with the 2011 NCAA Division III Championship, to be held November 18-20 on the campus of Washington University.

Kamp is just the second player in NCAA Division III history to be named an AVCA First-Team All-American four times, with the other being Juniata's Christy Orndorff from 1991-1994.  This fall, Kamp has been among the nation's leaders in kills-per-set (3.85), blocks-per-set (1.37), points-per-set (4.89) and hitting percentage (.401). During the season, she was named to all-tournament teams at tournaments hosted by Thomas More and Wittenberg. She was also named to the Great Lakes All-Region tournament this past weekend.

The Illinois native has been named the MIAA's Most Valuable Player three of the last four years, which is the first three-time MIAA MVP in history. During the conference season, Rebecca Kamp led the MIAA in hitting percentage (.459), kills-per-set (4.13) and blocks-per-set (1.16). She helped lead her team to their 21st appearance in the NCAA Tournament. 

Kamp's career as a Knight won't soon be forgotten after leading her team to a national championship a year ago.  Over the last four years she has proven to be one of the top players in the country, but it isn't until this year she is officially labeled as the best.


AVCA Division III National Players of the Year

2011 Rebecca Kamp, Calvin College

2010 Amelia McCall, Emory University

2009 Christina Cahoon, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

2008 Amber Thomas, Juniata College

2007 Amber Thomas, Juniata College

2006 Stephanie Kines, Juniata College

2005 Courtney Rose, Emory University
2004 Carli Dale, Juniata College
2003 Amy Smith, University of La Verne
2002 Rebecca Rotello, Washington University in St. Louis
2001 Allison Erickson, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
2000 Candace Wilson, Central College
1999 Abbie Brown, Central College
1998 Abbie Brown, Central College
1997 Jennifer Martz, Washington University in St. Louis
1996 Amy Ward, Wisconsin-Oshkosh
1995 Shelley Swan, Washington University in St. Louis
1994 Amy Albers, Washington University in St. Louis
1993 Amy Albers, Washington University in St. Louis
1992 Lisa Becker, Washington University in St. Louis
        Anastasia Nikas, Stony Brook University
1991 Elizabeth Tan, UC San Diego
1990 Kathy Bersett, Washington University in St. Louis
1989 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University in St. Louis
1988 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University in St. Louis
1987 Janet Hughes, UC San Diego
1986 Anne Westerkamp, Benedictine University
1985 Sherri Petrick, Benedictine University




< back