Keani Passi named TYC Player of the Year


< back

Keani Passi - College of Southern Idaho



LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association is pleased to announce the College of Southern Idaho sophomore right side/opposite Keani Passi as its 2012 AVCA Two Year College National Player of the Year.

Passi helped lead the top-seeded Golden Eagles to a record 10th NJCAA National Championship, their first since 2009, defeating No. 2 seeded Western Nebraska CC in straight sets. In the match, Passi led the team with a double-double of 12 kills and as many digs on her way to being named Tournament MVP and a spot on the All-Tournament Team.

The opposite had a tremendous second year, finishing the 2012 campaign averaging 3.83 kills per sets (eighth nationally) with a .276 hitting percentage. The sophomore also tallied 52 service aces to average 0.54 per set, which puts her at 12th in the country. She also got it done on the defensive end, recording 234 digs (2.44/s) and 77 total blocks (0.80/s). In the NJCAA Tournament, Passi recorded double-digit kills in all four matches.

In 2012, CSI finished their historic season with a 33-1 record and a perfect 10-0 in the Scenic West Athletic Conference. After dropping their only match of the year to the eventual NJCAA runner-ups on Aug. 31st, they went on a torrid run rattling off 29 wins in a row spanning two and a half months.

Passi joins a long and prestigious list of College of Southern Idaho National Players of the Year. Since 1987, there have been seven Golden Eagle AVCA Player of Year recipients, with this now marking the eighth to earn the distinction, and the first since 2005 when JoAnna Kaczor garnered the honor

The formal presentation of the AVCA Two Year College National Player of the Year will be made Dec. 14th in Louisville, Kentucky, at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet held in conjunction with the 2012 AVCA Annual Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championships.



AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Players of the Year
2012: Keani Passi (Southern Idaho)

2011: Xiao Liang (Iowa Lakes)

2010: Roslandy Acosta (Cowley County)

2009: Yiting Cao (Illinois Central)

2008: Kayla Schmidt (Blinn)

2007: Soriana Pacheco (Western Nebraska)

2006: Juliana Paz (Iowa Western)

2005: JoAnna Kaczor (Southern Idaho)

2004: Keila Oliviera (Miami-Dade)

2003: Nevena Siljegovic (Moorpark)

2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami-Dade)

2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)

2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)

1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)

1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)

1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)

1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)

1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)

1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)

1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)

1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)

1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)

1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)

1987: Sonia Trevino (San Jacinto-Central Campus)

< back