2012 AVCA Division III Men's National Player of the Year


< back

2012 AVCA Men's Division III National Player of the Year

Randy Hansen - Carthage College

randy hansen head shotLEXINGTON, Ky. (April 26, 2011) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced this evening that Carthage College senior outside hitter Randy Hansen was named the 2012 AVCA Men's Division III National Player of the Year.


The presentation was made at the NCAA Division III Men's Volleyball Championship Banquet in Springfield, Mass. The banquet was held in conjunction with the NCAA Division III Men's Volleyball Championship, to be played April 27-29 on the campus of Springfield College.


It wasn't always smooth sailing for Hansen and his fellow seniors. In their freshman year in 2005, the Red Men went 8-25, but have improved every year since then to get to their 27-5 record in 2012. Since Hansen joined the program, they have gone 79-53 as a team and 71-28 in the final three years.

Carthage has dominated the DIII men's game never falling out of the top-3 in the AVCA Men's Coaches Poll and holding the No. 1 seed for seven weeks. Under the tutelage of Head Coach L.J. Marx, Hansen and four All-American teammates will look to capture the inaugural NCAA Men's Division III National Championship.


He ranks second in the nation averaging 4.17 kills per set and is in the top-10 in hitting percentage with .361. The CVC All-West Division recipient was twice named a Sports Imports/AVCA Player of the Week and CVC Player of the Week. The Illinois native has posted 450 kills on the year to go along with 245 digs and 65 blocks.


Hansen was named an AVCA Men's Division III First-Team All-American earlier this week, joining only four others to be repeat recipients. In 2011 he was a Second-Team All-American selection.


In the nine-year history of the AVCA Men's Division III National Player of the Year award, Hansen becomes the first athlete from Carthage to be heralded with the prestigious honor. He also joins Matt Werle, Ricky Ziegler and Kenny Eiser, all from Juniata, Andrew Cranford from Stevens, Bryan Shires from UC Santa Cruz, Chris Schmidt from NYU and Springfield's Cal Palumbo and AJ Nally as the only recipients of the award.

AVCA Division III Men's National Player of the Year
2012: Randy Hansen, Carthage College

2011 Cal Palumbo, Springfield College

2010 AJ Nally, Springfield College

2009 Andrew Cranford, Stevens Institute of Technology

2008 Bryan Shires, UC Santa Cruz

2007 Matt Werle, Juniata College

2006 Chris Schmidt, New York University

2005 Ricky Ziegler, Juniata College
2004 Kenny Eiser, Juniata College

< back