2012 AVCA Division II National Player of the Year


< back

Danielle Selkridge - The University of Tampa


LEXINGTON, Ky. (Dec. 5, 2012) -The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that The University of Tampa senior middle blocker Danielle Selkridge has been named the 2012 AVCA Division II National Player of the Year.


It has been a memorable year so far for the Tampa Spartans, posting a 30-3 overall record and a perfect 16-0 in the Sunshine State Conference with Selkridge being one of the main reasons why. In the South Regional Finals against Palm Beach Atlantic, the Virgin Islands native smashed 20 kills with just one attacking error to finish with a .655 hitting percentage. They will head to the University of West Florida to compete in the national quarterfinals against Wheeling Jesuit on Thursday, December 6th.


Selkridge, the Conference Player of the Year for the second straight season, leads the country hitting at a .512 clip while leading the team with 3.62 kills per set. Her career .476 hitting percentage is the highest in program history. On the defensive end, the three-time AVCA All-American leads the Spartans in block assists (81) and total blocks (110).


The No. 7-ranked Tampa Spartans have been on a roll after losing to West Florida on October 19th, winning 13 consecutive matches dropping just three total sets in that period. They have been ranked in the top-10 of the AVCA Division II Coaches Poll the entire year, never falling below their current seventh spot. In addition to Selkridge, sophomore Meagan Burke and junior Holly Reschke were named to the AVCA South All-Region Team.


Last week, the two-time Sports Imports/AVCA Player of the Week is the first-ever Spartan to be selected as the Daktronics South Region Player of the Year for the second time. She has played some of her best matches against the best competition in the country, averaging over 14 kills per match against teams nationally ranked when they played them.


The formal presentation of the 2012 AVCA Division II National Player of the Year will be made Dec. 14th in Louisville, Kentucky at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet. The banquet is held in conjunction with the 2012 AVCA Annual Convention.


Division II AVCA National Players of the Year
2012: Danielle Selkridge, The University of Tampa
2011: Samantha Middleborn, Cal State San Bernardino
2010: Samantha Middleborn, Cal State San Bernardino
2009: Maggie McNamara, Concordia-St. Paul
2008: Maggie McNamara, Concordia-St. Paul
2007: Vicky Braegelmann, Minnesota Duluth
2006: Vicky Braegelmann, Minnesota Duluth; Li YiZhi, Lock Haven
2005: Erin Gudmundson, Univ. of Nebraska-Kearney
2004: Brianna Harris, Cal State San Bernardino
2003: Kim Morohunfola, Cal State San Bernardino
2002: Erin Deffenbaugh, Northern Colorado
2001: Shauna Sturm, South Dakota State
2000: Kari Peterson, Augustana (S.D.)
1999: Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M
1998: Melinda Almazan, Regis
1997: Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M
1996: Liu Jun, Northern Michigan
1995: Liu Jun, Northern Michigan
1994: Christy Wieneke, Cal State Bakersfield
1993: Stacey Metro, Northern Michigan
1992: Stacey Metro, Northern Michigan
1991: Ana Cristina Pereira, West Texas A&M
1990: Becky Belland, Central Missouri State
1989: Sheri Benson, UC Riverside
1988: Janet Cobbs, North Dakota State
1987: Angela Brinton, Cal State-Northridge
1986: Annie Kniss, UC Riverside
1985: Lynda Johnson, Portland State

< back