2012 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year


< back


Lizzie Kamp - Calvin College


Holland, Mich. (November 14, 2012) - Calvin College outside hitter Lizzie Kamp has been named the 2012 American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Division III Player of the Year. The award was announced this evening at the NCAA Division III Championship awards banquet in Holland, Mich., which was held in conjunction with the 2012 NCAA Division III Championship, to be held November 15-17 on the campus of Hope College.

You'd be hard-pressed to find someone who has received more accolades in a given year than Kamp. Earlier this fall, she was named the MIAA's Most Valuable Player, becoming the second member from her family to receive the award as her older sister Rebecca was a three-time MIAA MVP. Rebecca won the AVCA Division III Player of the Year award a year ago as well. That's not to say younger sister Lizzie didn't pave her own path to success. Kamp's 4.43 kills per set ranks her in the top-10 in the nation while also hitting nearly .320.

The Illinois native was named MVP of NCAA Tournament Regional hosted by Calvin last weekend, helping secure the Knights' appearance in the Elite Eight. In the regional final against No. 2 Wittenberg, Kamp nailed 24 kills, hit .352 and recorded 15 digs in the five-set thriller. In the three matches of the NCAA Tournament, the two-time AVCA All-American accumulated 67 kills, averaging over five kills per set when the pressure was at its highest.

The Knights have a tremendous season. They currently hold a 31-2 overall record and a No. 1 in the AVCA Coaches Poll. The MIAA Champs will face off against No. 12 University of Puget Sound on Thursday, November 15th.

AVCA Division III National Players of the Year

2012 Lizzie Kamp, Calvin College

2011 Rebecca Kamp, Calvin College

2010 Amelia McCall, Emory University

2009 Christina Cahoon, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

2008 Amber Thomas, Juniata College

2007 Amber Thomas, Juniata College

2006 Stephanie Kines, Juniata College

2005 Courtney Rose, Emory University
2004 Carli Dale, Juniata College
2003 Amy Smith, University of La Verne
2002 Rebecca Rotello, Washington University in St. Louis
2001 Allison Erickson, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
2000 Candace Wilson, Central College
1999 Abbie Brown, Central College
1998 Abbie Brown, Central College
1997 Jennifer Martz, Washington University in St. Louis
1996 Amy Ward, Wisconsin-Oshkosh
1995 Shelley Swan, Washington University in St. Louis
1994 Amy Albers, Washington University in St. Louis
1993 Amy Albers, Washington University in St. Louis
1992 Lisa Becker, Washington University in St. Louis
Anastasia Nikas, Stony Brook University
1991 Elizabeth Tan, UC San Diego
1990 Kathy Bersett, Washington University in St. Louis
1989 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University in St. Louis
1988 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University in St. Louis
1987 Janet Hughes, UC San Diego
1986 Anne Westerkamp, Benedictine University
1985 Sherri Petrick, Benedictine University


< back