2000 Men's All America Teams


< back

2000 AVCA Men's All-America Teams


Colorado Springs, Colo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announces its tenth annual AVCA All-America awards for men's volleyball.  The presentation of the awards will occur at the NCAA Men's Volleyball National Championship Banquet at the Walb Union Ballroom on the campus of IPFW in Ft. Wayne, Ind. on Wednesday, May 3, 2000.
Eleven players that earned AVCA All-America honors in 1999 were again named to the 2000 AVCA All-America teams; seven of eight 1999 second-team honorees were re-named and four 1999 first-team honorees were re-selected.  The first-team is led by two-time AVCA first-team All-American Donald Suxho of USC.  The senior setter has been named the AVCA National Player of the Year for 2000.  The others repeating as first-team honorees include Hector Soto (IPFW), Brandon Taliaferro (UCLA) and Scott Wong (Pepperdine).  Taliaferro earned AVCA All-America honors for the fourth consecutive year.
Seventy-three student-athletes representing 25 schools were nominated for AVCA All-America status.  The selections were made by the AVCA Men's Volleyball All-America Committee: chairperson Mark Pavlik (Penn State); Arnie Ball (IPFW); Sean Byron (East Stroudsburg); Dave Deuser (Lewis); Ron Larsen (UC-San Diego); Ivan Marquez (Concordia); Rick McLaughlin (Loyola Marymount); Joel Walton (Ball State); and Joe Wortman (Pacific).

AVCA First-Team All-America          
Player Institution Pos.  Yr. Ht.  Hometown  
Rene' Esteves *$ Ohio State MB Sr. 6-7 Rio Piedras, Puerto Rico
David McKienzie * Long Beach State OH Jr. 6-4 Littleton, Colo.  
Reid Priddy *$ Loyola Marymount OH Sr. 6-5 Phoenix, Ariz.  
Matt Prosser * Long Beach State MB Jr.  6-7 Ventura, Calif.  
Hector Soto &$ IPFW OH Sr. 6-6 Arroyo, Puerto Rico  
Donald Suxho & USC S Sr. 6-5 Korce, Albania  
Brandon Taliaferro &@% UCLA S Sr. 6-5 San Clemente, Calif.  
Costas Theocharidis Hawai'i OH Fr. 6-2 Orestiada, Greece  
Scott Wong & Pepperdine OH Jr. 6-5 Pearl City, Hawai'i  
AVCA Second-Team All-America          
Player Institution Pos. Yr. Ht. Hometown  
Angel Aja @ Ohio State S Sr. 6-2 Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Brook Billings USC OPP So. 6-5 Santa Barbara, Calif.  
Andre Breuer *@ Pepperdine OH Sr. 6-9 Berlin, Germany  
Scott Bunker Brigham Young MB Jr. 6-6 Escondido, Calif.  
Chris Gisslen * IPFW S Sr. 6-7 Red Wing, Minn.  
Brad Keenan Pepperdine MB Fr. 6-8 Westminster, Calif.  
Eduardo Quinones Lewis OH Sr. 6-3 Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Chris Seiffert *$ Long Beach State S Sr. 6-4 Laguna Niguel, Calif.  
Curt Toppel Stanford OPP Fr. 6-9 Pacific Palisades, Calif.

2000 AVCA NEWCOMER AWARD: Costas Theocharidis, Hawai'i


& indicates AVCA First-Team selection in 1999
* indicates AVCA Second-Team selection in 1999
@ indicates AVCA First-Team selection in 1998
$ indicates AVCA Second-Team selection in 1998
# indicates AVCA First-Team selection in 1997
% indicates AVCA Second-Team selection in 199

< back