2003 National Player of the Year


< back

Hawai'i Senior Costas Theocharidis Named AVCA Men's National Player of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (April 30, 2003) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce University of Hawai'i senior outside hitter Costas Theocharidis has been selected as the 2003 AVCA National Player of the Year for men's volleyball. Theocharidis also earned the honor in 2001 as a sophomore.

Theocharidis, a native of Orestiada, Greece, enters a group of one as he is the first player to earn AVCA All-America First-Team honors four times. He was tabbed the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Player of the Year for 2003, repeating an honor he earned in 2001. Theocharidis ranks second nationally for average points scored as he contributed 5.33 kills, 0.68 blocks and 0.27 aces per game in 2003. He completed his career with 2,198 kills, the only Warrior to ever reach the 2,000-kill milestone. He also holds the school record for career attempts. Theocharidis reached 20 kills or more 51 times in his collegiate career, including 10 30-kill matches.

Theocharidis' resume goes even further. He was selected AVCA National Newcomer of the Year in 2000. Last year he earned the 2002 NCAA Men's Collegiate Volleyball Tournament Most Outstanding Player Award. He is a six-time AVCA/Sports Imports National Player of the Week. Theocharidis' athletic honors do not hide the fact he is a great student in the classroom as he earned Verizon Academic All-America honors in 2002 and could very well duplicate the honor in 2003.

Hawai'i, the defending NCAA champions, finished the 2003 season with a 24-6 record after losing to Brigham Young University in the MPSF Tournament semifinal round.

Formal presentation of the AVCA All-America and National Player of the Year awards will be made Wednesday, April 30, at the NCAA Men's Volleyball National Championship Banquet in Long Beach, Calif.

AVCA National Players of the Year
2003: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)
2002: Brad Keenan (Pepperdine)
2001: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)
2000: Donald Suxho (USC)
1999: George Roumain (Pepperdine)
1998: George Roumain (Pepperdine)
1997: Ivan Contreras (Penn State)
1996: Yuval Katz (Hawai'i), Stein Metzger (UCLA)
1995: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)
1994: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)
1993: Canyon Ceman (Stanford)
1992: Brent Hilliard (Long Beach State)
1991: Bryan Ivie (USC)

< back