2002 Men's National Player of the Year


< back

Pepperdine Junior Brad Keenan Name
AVCA Men's National Player of the Year

Colorado Springs, Colo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce Brad Keenan has been selected as the 2002 National Player of the Year for men's volleyball. Keenan is the second Waves player to earn the award, following George Roumain's back-to-back selections in 1998 and 1999.

As a 6-8 junior middle blocker, Keenan's versatility and dynamics at the net has been a major reason why Pepperdine (28-4) has rolled to 16 straight victories, the number-one spot in the national poll and a berth in this weekend's NCAA Tournament. Now a three-time AVCA All-America pick, he ranks among the top 10 national leaders in three statistical categories. He ranks second in blocks per game at 1.86 and seventh in hitting percentage at .466. Keenan's serve leads to 0.65 aces per game, tops in the nation.

Keenan, the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Player of the Year, has contributed five matches this season with at least 10 blocks or more, including a season-high 13 in a three-game match versus UC Irvine. In an earlier meeting with UC Irvine, he recorded 11 kills, nine blocks and seven aces showcasing his versatility. In a showdown with then-number one UCLA on March 30, he recorded 12 kills on a .800 hitting percentage, added four aces and eight blocks. He notched a season-high 20 kills against Stanford on April 13 to close the regular season schedule.

Keenan, a native of Westminster, Calif., was named AVCA/Sports Imports National Player of the Week after leading Pepperdine to two victories at BYU in March.

Formal presentation of the AVCA All-America and National Player of the Year awards will be made Wednesday, May 1, at the NCAA Men's Volleyball National Championship Banquet in University Park, Pa.

AVCA National Players of the Year
2002: Brad Keenan (Pepperdine)
2001: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)
2000: Donald Suxho (USC)
1999: George Roumain (Pepperdine)
1998: George Roumain (Pepperdine)
1997: Ivan Contreras (Penn State)
1996: Yuval Katz (Hawai'i), Stein Metzger (UCLA)
1995: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)
1994: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)
1993: Canyon Ceman (Stanford)
1992: Brent Hilliard (Long Beach State)
1991: Bryan Ivie (USC)

< back