2008 Men's National Coach of the Year Divisions I/II


< back

Penn State Head Coach Mark Pavlik Selected

2008 AVCA Division I-II Men's National Coach of the Year

pdf version


LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 21, 2008) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that Penn State University head men's volleyball coach Mark Pavlik has been selected as the 2008 AVCA Division I-II Men's National Coach of the Year.  In the 18-year history of the AVCA National Coach of the Year award, this is the first time Pavlik has been honored, and just the second time the men's head coach from Penn State has received the award.


"I would like to thank the AVCA for this award, although I believe it is truly a reflection of the hard work of the team and entire staff, including my assistants Craig Dyer and Colin McMillan," said Pavlik.  "The university and athletic department provides us with a great volleyball environment and I can't thank my bosses, Jan Bortner, Director of Athletics Tim Curley and University President Dr. Graham Spanier, enough for their continued support of the entire volleyball program here at Penn State."


Pavlik led Penn State to the NCAA Men's Volleyball national championship behind a 30-1 record in 2008.  The Nittany Lions dominated their competition this season from wire to wire, losing only to George Mason University in early March, and losing two games in a match only one other time, a stretch that included losing zero games in the month of February.  After going 11-1 in the Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association, the Nittany Lions swept through the conference tournament, earning the top seed in the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship.


Penn State downed Ohio State University in four games in the national semifinals, then came from one game down to beat Pepperdine University 3-1 in the finals.  It was Penn State's second men's volleyball national championship, with the other coming in 1994.


Penn State finished the season atop the CBS College Sports Network/AVCA Division I-II Men's Coaches Top 15 Poll, a spot it held for 10 weeks this season, including the final eight.  When the Nittany Lions climbed to the top spot on February 25, it was their first No. 1 ranking in an AVCA men's volleyball poll since January 2002. 


Having just completed his 14th season as head coach of Penn State, Pavlik now holds an overall mark of 339-101 as head coach of the Nittany Lions.


With the men's title in May, Penn State becomes just the second school to win the NCAA men's and women's volleyball national title in the same academic year, joining Stanford in 1996-97. The Nittany Lions also join the Cardinal in another prestigious category, as Pavlik and Penn State women's head coach Russ Rose become just the second duo from the same school to earn AVCA National Coach of the Year honors in the same academic year. Former Stanford coaches Don Shaw and Ruben Nieves picked up the accolades in 1991-92.


Pavlik will be formally presented the AVCA Division I-II National Coach of the Year award on December 18 in Omaha, Neb., at the 2008 Jostens Coaches Honors Luncheon. The luncheon is held in conjunction with the 2008 AVCA Annual Convention.


AVCA Division I-II Men's National Coach of the Year
(prior to 2004, all Divisions competed for this honor)

2008: Mark Pavlik, Penn State

2007: Arnie Ball, IPFW

2006: John Speraw, UC Irvine

2005: Marv Dunphy, Pepperdine

2004: Alan Knipe, Long Beach State

2003: Dave Deuser, Lewis

2002: Mike Wilton, Hawai'i

2001: Carl McGown, BYU

2000: Peter Hanson, Ohio State

1999: Carl McGown, BYU

1998: Al Scates, UCLA

1997: Ruben Nieves, Stanford

1996: Al Scates, UCLA

1995: Don Shondell, Ball State

1994: Tom Peterson, Penn State

1993: Al Scates, UCLA

1992: Ruben Nieves, Stanford

1991: Ray Ratelle, Long Beach State

< back