2006 AVCA National Player of the Year


< back

Nebraska's Sarah Pavan Named 2006 AVCA Division I National Player of the YearSM


OMAHA, Neb. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced this evening that University of Nebraska junior right side/opposite hitter Sarah Pavan was named the 2006 AVCA Division I National Player of the YearSM.


The presentations were made at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year BanquetSM in Omaha, Neb. The banquet was held in conjunction with the 2006 AVCA Annual Convention.


Heading into national semifinal action this weekend, the two-time Big 12 Player of the Year was averaging 5.07 kills per game, which led the conference and was one of the top ten averages in the country.  She also ranked first in the conference in points per game (5.97) and sixth in aces per game (0.33).


Pavan, who earlier this week became one of only three Nebraska players to be named to the AVCA All-America First Team three times, has helped lead her team to the National Championship match for the second consecutive season.  She led the way with 22 kills in a four-game victory over UCLA in Thursday night's semifinals.  The top-ranked Huskers will square off with No. 2 Stanford Saturday night at the Qwest Center Omaha to determine the 2006 National Champion.


Pavan, who is biochemistry major with a 4.0 grade point average, was also named the 2006 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American of the YearÒ, as voted on by the College Sports Information Directors of America.  It is the second year that Pavan has been named to the First Team Academic All-AmericaÒ.


Nebraska now boasts back-to-back AVCA National Players of the Year, as Christina Houghtelling won the award in 2005.  Pavan is the third Husker overall to win the award, as Greichaly Cepero won the honor in 2000.  The last team to have back-to-back winners was Stanford, with Logan Tom taking the award in 2001 and 2002.


AVCA Division I National Players of the YearSM:
2006: Sarah Pavan (Nebraska)

2005: Christina Houghtelling (Nebraska)
2004: Stacey Gordon (Ohio State); Ogonna Nnamani (Stanford)
2003: Kim Willoughby (Hawai'i)
2002: Logan Tom (Stanford)
2001: Logan Tom (Stanford)
2000: Greichaly Cepero (Nebraska)
1999: Lauren Cacciamani (Penn State); Kerri Walsh (Stanford)
1998: Misty May (Long Beach State)
1997: Misty May (Long Beach State)
1996: Angelica Ljungquist (Hawai'i )
1995: Cary Wendell (Stanford); Allison Weston (Nebraska)
1994: Laura Davis (Ohio State)
1993: Danielle Scott (Long Beach State)
1992: Natalie Williams (UCLA)
1991: Antoinnette White (Long Beach State)
1990: Bev Oden (Stanford)
1989: Tara Cross (Long Beach State); Teee Williams (Hawai'i)
1988: Tara Cross (Long Beach State)
1987: Teee Williams (Hawai'i)
1986: Mariliisa Salmi (BYU)
1985: Kim Oden (Stanford)


< back