2002 Men's National Coach of the Year


< back

University of Hawai'i Head Coach Mike Wilton Selected
2002 Tackikara/AVCA Men's National Coach of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.--The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA), in conjunction with Tachikara, is pleased to announce that University of Hawai'i Head Men's Volleyball Coach Mike Wilton has been selected the 2002 Tachikara/AVCA Men's National Coach of the Year.

Wilton led Hawai'i to its first-ever NCAA men's volleyball national championship with a 24-8 record, the Warriors' third 20-win season under Wilton's leadership. The Warriors finished second (17-5) in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation regular season and conference tournament. Hawai'i, which had not earned a berth into the NCAA Tournament since 1996, defeated top-ranked Pepperdine in the national title match after losing to the Waves in three previous meetings in 2002.

Hawai'i began the season ranked fifth in the USA Today/AVCA Division I-II Coaches Top 15 Poll released Jan. 15. The Warriors, who never dropped out of the top five, held the number-two position for the four weeks leading up to the NCAA Tournament. Hawai'i lost two matches in a row just once in 2002, that being back-to-back road matches at Pepperdine.

Wilton earned his 200th victory with the Warrior men's volleyball program following the NCAA championship win over Pepperdine. He has posted a .697 winning percentage at Hawai'i in 10 seasons.

Counting his days as head coach at Cal Poly, Wilton holds claim to winning 200 matches as both a head men's and women's coach. He compiled a 292-157 overall record in 11 seasons as the women's coach at Cal Poly from 1979 to 1989. In addition, Wilton served three years as the school's men's coach with a 38-13 record. Before arriving at Hawai'i, he served as an assistant coach at Brigham Young University under Carl McGown.

Wilton earned the Tachikara/AVCA Coach of the Year honor through a two-stage voting process. Every current AVCA-member men's head volleyball coach was listed on a preliminary ballot with the top four vote receivers advancing to the final ballot. Each AVCA-member men's head coach voted in rank order for three coaches in the first stage. A total of 16 different coaches received votes on the preliminary ballot. In addition to Wilton, the final ballot included Pepperdine's Marv Dunphy, Loyola-Chicago's Gordon Mayforth and Springfield's Charlie Sullivan.

The formal presentation of the award will be made Dec. 19, 2002, in New Orleans, at the AVCA national convention held in conjunction with the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship.

Past Tachikara/AVCA Coach of the Year winners:
2001: Carl McGown (BYU)
2000: Pete Hanson (Ohio State)
1999: Carl McGown (BYU)
1998: Al Scates (UCLA)
1997: Ruben Nieves (Stanford)
1996: Al Scates (UCLA)
1995: Don Shondell (Ball State)
1994: Tom Peterson (Penn State)
1993: Al Scates (UCLA)
1992: Ruben Nieves (Stanford)
1991: Ray Ratelle (Long Beach State)

< back