1999 Men's National Coach of the Year


< back

BYU'S Carl McGown Selected 1999 Tachikara/AVCA Men's National Coach of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA), in conjunction with Tachikara, is pleased to announce that BYU's Carl McGown has been selected the 1999 Tachikara/AVCA Men's National Coach of the Year.

McGown, who led the Cougars to their first national championship in men's volleyball in their first-ever NCAA tournament appearance, earned the award in a vote by all of the AVCA member head coaches at NCAA schools.

BYU finished the season with a 30-1 record and won the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation regular-season and postseason titles for the first time in the program's history.

The Cougars won 23 of 24 matches vs. opponents that were ranked in the USA TODAY/AVCA Coaches Top 15, including two wins over Pepperdine, UCLA, USC, Ohio State and UC Irvine. BYU won 19 matches in the minimum three games, and 10 others in four.

McGown, who just completed his 10th season with BYU at the NCAA level, has compiled a 142-111 record.

The formal presentation of the award will be made Dec. 18, 1999, in Honolulu, Hawai'i, at the AVCA national convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship.

Past Tachikara/AVCA Coach of the Year winners:

1998     Al Scates             UCLA
1997     Ruben Nieves    Stanford
1996     Al Scates             UCLA
1995     Don Shondell     Ball State
1994     Tom Peterson    Penn State
1993     Al Scates             UCLA
1992     Ruben Nieves    Stanford
1991     Ray Ratelle         Long Beach State

< back