2003 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year


< back

  Amy Smith of the University of La Verne Named AVCA Division III Player of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce University of La Verne senior outside hitter Amy Smith as its 2003 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year.

Smith, a native of Atascadero, Calif., averages 3.47 kills, 3.17 digs, 0.28 service aces and 0.43 blocks per game entering this weekend as the sixth-ranked Eagles head into the NCAA semifinals versus seventh-ranked New York University. She is tied for a team-best 3.47 kills per game and is second on the team in service aces with 27. Smith was named the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Week three times this season. She received her last SCIAC Player of the Week honor after leading the Leopards past the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse in the NCAA Quarterfinals with 25 kills.

"Amy Smith has that quality that separates the good players from the truly great; the ability to become the dominant player on a team composed of many outstanding players," Jen Bowman, the AVCA Division III Chairperson said. "In a field of truly stellar candidates, Amy's all-round skill and prime-time mental focus have placed her at the pinnacle of Division III achievement and that is why she was named the AVCA Division III Player of the Year."

Smith was selected to the Whittier All-Tournament, Emory All-Tournament and the Cal State Hayward Wild West Shoot Out All-Tournament Teams. La Verne has won the SCIAC title each of Smith's four years. She leads La Verne into the NCAA semifinals with a 14-match win streak on the line.

The formal presentation of the award to the 2003 AVCA National Players of the Year will be made Dec. 19 in Dallas at the AVCA All-America/Player of the Year banquet. The banquet, which will take place at the Dallas Wyndham Anatole Hotel, is held in conjunction with the 2003 AVCA National Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship.

AVCA Division III National Players of the Year
2002 Rebecca Rotello, Washington University
2001 Allison Erickson, Wisconsin-Whitewater
2000 Candace Wilson, Central College
1999 Abbie Brown, Central College
1998 Abbie Brown, Central College
1997 Jennifer Martz, Washington University
1996 Amy Ward, Wisconsin-Oshkosh
1995 Shelley Swan, Washington University
1994 Amy Albers, Washington University
1993 Amy Albers, Washington University
1992 Lisa Becker, Washington University
Anastasia Nikas, Stony Brook University
1991 Elizabeth Tan, UC San Diego
1990 Kathy Bersett, Washington University
1989 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University
1988 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University
1987 Janet Hughes, UC San Diego
1986 Anne Westerkamp, Benedictine University
1985 Sherri Petrick, Benedictine University

< back