2002 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year


< back

Rebecca Rotello of Washington University in St. Louis
Named 2001 AVCA Division III Player of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce Washington University in St. Louis senior setter Rebecca Rotello as its 2002 AVCA Division III National Player of the Year.

Rotello, a native of Springfield, Ill., averaged 11.60 assists, 2.20 digs, 0.61 blocks and 1.82 kills per game for the second-ranked Bears (40-1) heading into this weekend's NCAA Division III semifinal match against Trinity University (Texas). She has led WU to a .293 team hitting percentage this season, which has included 16 matches against nationally ranked opponents during the regular season. Rotello has 1,566 assists this season, which ranks second for a single-season at WU.

 "The AVCA Division III Awards Committee is proud to select Rebecca Rotello as the AVCA Division III National Player of the Year," said Jenny McDowell, chair of the AVCA Division III Postseason Awards Committee and head coach at Emory University. "We feel Rebecca is the finest Division III player in the country. Furthermore, we feel her leadership has been instrumental in Washington University's continued success. She has demonstrated great skill, determination and character throughout the entire 2002 volleyball season."

Rotello, a three-time AVCA All-American, ranks 21st in NCAA Division III history and second in Bears' history for career assists with a season of eligibility remaining. She was named to five all-tournament teams in 2002, as well as All-University Athletic Association First Team. Rotello earned the AVCA/Sports Imports Division III National Player of the Week on Nov. 11 for her play at the UAA championships. She turned in a triple-double (11 kills, 35 assists, 11 digs) on Sept. 14 in a three-game win against nationally ranked Ohio Northern.

The formal presentation of the award to the 2002 AVCA National Players of the Year will be made Dec. 20 in New Orleans at the AVCA All-America/Player of the Year banquet. The banquet, which will take place at the New Orleans Marriott Hotel, is held in conjunction with the 2002 AVCA National Convention and NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship.

AVCA Division III National Players of the Year
2001: Allison Erickson, Wisconsin-Whitewater
2000: Candace Wilson, Central College
1999: Abbie Brown, Central College
1998: Abbie Brown, Central College
1997: Jennifer Martz, Washington Univ.
1996: Amy Ward, Wisconsin-Oshkosh
1995: Shelley Swan, Washington Univ.
1994: Amy Albers, Washington Univ.
1993: Amy Albers, Washington Univ.
1992: Lisa Becker, Washington University and Anastasia Nikas, Stony Brook University
1991: Elizabeth Tan, UC San Diego
1990: Kathy Bersett, Washington University
1989: Lori Nishikawa, Washington University
1988: Lori Nishikawa, Washington University
1987: Janet Hughes, UC San Diego
1986: Anne Westerkamp, Benedictine University
1985: Sherri Petrick, Benedictine University

- AVCA -

< back