2003 AVCA National Player of the Year


< back

Hawaii's Kim Willoughby Honored as 2003 AVCA Division I National Player of the Year

DALLAS, Texas - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced today that University of Hawaii's Kim Willoughby, a senior outside hitter from Napoleonville, La., was named the 2003 American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I National Player of the Year.

The presentation was made at the AVCA All-America/Player of the Year Banquet in Dallas. The banquet was held in conjunction with the AVCA Annual Convention.

Willoughby is a three-time AVCA All-American and ranks second nationally in kills per game in 2003 with 6.59. She added 2.99 digs and 0.62 aces per game while hitting a hefty .372 in her final collegiate season. Willoughby helped the Rainbow Wahine (36-2) to the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament semifinals for the second straight year. During the NCAA Tournament, she averaged in excess of 7.5 kills per game and was credited with 35 kills in the NCAA Region Final match versus Georgia Tech. Willoughby produced 17 double-doubles on the season with at least 20 kills in 20 matches.

Willoughby set the school record for career kills on Aug. 22 and has pushed her kill total to 2,598 for sixth best in NCAA Division I history. She averaged 5.91 kills per game during the course of her career, which ranks third in NCAA history. Willoughby also contributed 1,440 digs, 194 service aces and 291 blocks over 459 career games with the Rainbow Wahine.

Previous AVCA Division I Players of the Year
2002: Logan Tom, Stanford
2001: Logan Tom, Stanford
2000: Greichaly Cepero, Nebraska
1999: Lauren Cacciamani, Penn State; and Kerri Walsh, Stanford
1998: Misty May, Long Beach State
1997: Misty May, Long Beach State
1996: Angelica Ljungquist, Hawai'i
1995: Cary Wendell, Stanford; and Allison Weston, Nebraska
1994: Laura Davis, Ohio State
1993: Danielle Scott, Long Beach State
1992: Natalie Williams, UCLA
1991: Antoinnette White, Long Beach State
1990: Bev Oden, Stanford
1989: Tara Cross, Long Beach State; and Teee Williams, Hawai'i
1988: Tara Cross, Long Beach State
1987: Teee Williams, Hawai'i
1986: Mariliisa Salmi, BYU
1985: Kim Oden, Stanford

< back