1996 Tachikara/AVCA National Coach of the Year


< back

1996 Tachikara/AVCA Division III National Coach of the Year

Colorado Springs, Colo. - Tachikara and the American Volleyball Coaches Association are pleased to announce that Teri Clemens of Washington University (Mo.) has been selected as the 1996 Tachikara/AVCA Division III National Coach of the Year.

Clemens guided the Bears to their sixth consecutive national championship, a collegiate record at all volleyball levels.  In her 12th season at Washington, Clemens' team claimed the University Athletic Conference title for the eighth straight season along with a perfect 33-0 record in Division III.

Clemens has compiled a 457-67 record at Washington, which ranks her first among active NCAA coaches in winning percentage with an .872 mark.  Washington extended its home winning streak to an all-divisions record 101 matches this season.

She was honored as the Tachikara/AVCA Division III National Coach of the Year in 1991 and 1994 after leading Washington to national titles in those respective seasons.

The Bears have won 28 consecutive postseason matches and hold the NCAA record for tournament winning percentage thanks to a 37-3 (.925) all-time postseason record.  Washington also owns the Division III record for most titles won with seven.

Tachikara will formally present the Coach of the Year awards on Thursday, Dec. 19, 1996 in Cleveland, Ohio.  The luncheon, which will begin at 12:30 p.m. at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, is held in conjunction with the 1996 AVCA National Convention.

< back