2000 AVCA National Player of the Year


< back

Nebraska's Greichaly Cepero Honored as 2000 AVCA Division I National Player of the Year

RICHMOND, Va. -- The AVCA announced today that University of Nebraska's Greichaly Cepero, a setter from Dorado, Puerto Rico, was named the 2000 American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I National Player of the Year.

The announcement and presentation of the award concluded the 2000 AVCA All-American/Player of the Year Awards Banquet on Dec. 15. The banquet was held in conjunction with the AVCA Convention in Richmond, Va.

Cepero, a 6-2 sophomore, was a triple threat as setter, blocker and hitter.  She averaged 11.93 assists, 1.47 blocks and 1.87 kills from her setter position.

Cepero, who has been involved in 33 percent of Nebraska's total team blocks, has directed the Cornhusker offense to a .315 team hitting percentage and berth in the NCAA championship match.  Entering this weekend's NCAA Tournament semifinals, she tallied post-season averages of 2.15 kills, 1.23 blocks, 2.38 digs and 13.54 assists while attacking at a .362 efficiency.

Cepero is the only setter ranked among the NCAA top 20 in block assists this season.  Her honors in 2000 include adidas Invitational most valuable player, US Bank All-Tournament, two Big 12 Player of Week selections, Verizon Academic All-District and NCAA All-Central Region Tournament Most Outstanding Player.

Previous AVCA Division I Players of the Year:
1999: Lauren Cacciamani, Penn State; and Kerri Walsh, Stanford
1998: Misty May, Long Beach State
1997: Misty May, Long Beach State
1996: Angelica Ljungquist, Hawai'i
1995: Cary Wendell, Stanford; and Allison Weston, Nebraska
1994: Laura Davis, Ohio State
1993: Danielle Scott, Long Beach State
1992: Natalie Williams, UCLA
1991: Antoinnette White, Long Beach State
1990: Bev Oden, Stanford
1989: Tara Cross, Long Beach State; and Teee Williams, Hawai'i
1988: Tara Cross, Long Beach State
1987: Teee Williams, Hawai'i
1986: Mariliisa Salmi, BYU
1985: Kim Oden, Stanford

< back