1997 AVCA National Player of the Year


< back

Long Beach State's Misty May Named 1997 AVCA Division I Player of the Year

Colorado Springs, Colo. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that Long Beach State's Misty May has been selected as the 1997 Player of the Year for Division I.

May, a 5-9 setter, is the fourth 49er to earn AVCA Player of the Year honors, following Tara Cross (1988 and 1989), Antoinnette White (1991) and Danielle Scott (1993).

May is a three-time First-Team All-Big West selection, earning conference most valuable player honors the last two seasons.  Misty may be the most diverse player in the country playing at both the outside hitter and setter position in her three seasons as a 49er.  She has helped Long Beach stay in the top three nationally in hitting percentage the last two years.

In the regional finals against Nebraska she posted her fifth triple-double of the season with 10 kills, 15 digs and 48 assists.  The 1994 National High School Player of the Year, Misty carries on a long tradition of AVCA All-American setters from Long Beach State.

May earned Most Valuable Player honors at all three tournaments in which the 49ers participated this season.  She posted five triple-doubles this season including 14 kills, 70 assists and 16 digs in a five-game win over UC Santa Barbara.  This season, she led Long Beach to its first-ever Big West tournament title.

The formal presentation of the AVCA National Player of the Year awards was  made today in Spokane, Wash., at the AVCA National Convention.

Previous AVCA Division I Players of the Year:
1996: Angelica Ljungquist, Hawai'i
1995: Cary Wendell, Stanford and Allison Weston, Nebraska
1994: Laura Davis, Ohio State
1993: Danielle Scott, Long Beach State
1992: Natalie Williams, UCLA
1991: Antoinnette White, Long Beach State
1990: Bev Oden, Stanford
1989: Tara Cross, Long Beach State and Teee Williams, Hawai'i
1988: Tara Cross, Long Beach State
1987: Teee Williams, Long Beach State
1986: Mariliisa Salmi, BYU
1985: Kim Oden, Stanford

< back