1998 Tachikara/AVCA Division II Region Coaches of the Year


< back

1998 Tachikara/AVCA Division II Region Coaches of the Year

The following coaches have been voted by their region as Tachikara/AVCA Region Coach of the Year.  Each of the honorees will represent their region on the national coach of the year ballot.  The award will be officially presented at the Tachikara/AVCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Madison, Wis., on Thursday, Dec. 17, at the AVCA National Convention.
Atlantic Region Coach of the Year
Larry Hill, Fairmont State
    Hill guided the Lady Falcons to the West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference title and a 27-7 overall record.  Fairmont spent the majority of the season as the No. 2 team in the region, but moved into the top spot in the final rankings with victories over West Virginia Wesleyan, Charleston and Millersville.  The Lady Falcons advanced to the NCAA tournament for the first time in school history.
Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year
Mary Biermann, Northern Kentucky
    Biermann has guided NKU (29-3) to its first Elite Eight appearance in its second consecutive NCAA tournament appearance.  The Norse spent the entire year ranked in the AVCA Division II Coaches Top 20 and secured wins over Northwood, Grand Valley State, IPFW and Southern Illinois-Edwardsville.  The Norse claimed the Great Lakes Valley Tournament title after tying for first with IPFW and SIU-Edwardsville in regular season play.

Northeastern Region Coach of the Year
Dinu Dan, Pace University

    The Setters (34-9) have advanced to their first-ever Elite Eight after making their third consecutive NCAA tournament appearance.  On the season, Pace defeated New Haven, Bryant and Division I Quinnipiac.  The Setters captured their second consecutive Northeast-10 Conference title by finishing a perfect 9-0 this season.  Dan helped Pace reach 30 wins for the fourth consecutive season.

North Central Region Coach of the Year
Zaundra Bina, North Dakota State University

    North Dakota State was ranked as high as No. 4 in the national poll and returns to the Elite Eight for the first time since 1992.  The Bisons went 12-3 against top 25 teams during the season, including wins over Northern Michigan, North Alabama and Augustana.  Bina also notched her 100th win at NDSU this season.

Pacific Region Coach of the Year
Reydan Ahuna, Hawaii Pacific

    Ahuna has helped Hawaii Pacific reach the Elite Eight in just their first year in Division II.  Moving from the NAIA, the Lady Sea Warriors (28-5) started the year unrated but ended the year ranked No. 3 and are the only Division II team to defeat top-ranked BYU-Hawaii.  Ahuna's program also set a new school record for wins in a season.  She has turned the program around from a 10-11 showing last year and has led HPU to just its second postseason appearance since 1990.

South Region Coach of the Year
Chris Catanach, Tampa

    The Spartans (31-2) finished the season ranked No. 2 in the AVCA Division II Coaches Poll.  Wins over highly-ranked West Texas A&M and Barry highlight Tampa's 13-2 record against teams ranked in the top 25.  The Spartans are making their 14th NCAA tournament appearance and their second trip to the Elite Eight in the last three seasons.

Southwest Region Coach of the Year
Joan McDermott, The Met

    Spending most of the season in the top 20, The Met (26-12) finished the season ranked No. 14 and posted victories over cross-town rival then-No. 2 Regis, Cal State Bakersfield, West Texas A&M and Augustana.  McDermott earned her 400th career win this season in helping the Roadrunners advance to their second consecutive Southwest Regional championship match.
South Central Region Coach of the Year
Matt Peck, North Alabama
    Ranked as high as No. 8, the Lions (38-5) ended up undefeated in the Gulf South Conference for the second consecutive season.  North Alabama also scored wins over South Dakota State, Central Missouri State and Rockhurst.  The Lions are making their first-ever Elite Eight appearance in their third consecutive trip to the NCAA tournament.

< back