1997 Tachikara/AVCA Division II Region Coaches of the Year


< back

1997 Tachikara/AVCA Division II Region Coaches of the Year

The following coaches have been voted by their region as Tachikara/AVCA Region Coach of the Year.  Each of the honorees will represent their region on the national Coach of the Year ballot. The award will be officially presented at the Tachikara/AVCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Spokane, Wash., on Thursday, Dec. 18, at the AVCA National Convention.


Atlantic Region Coach of the Year
Tom Justice, Lock Haven

    Justice has led Lock Haven (31-15) to its first-ever Elite Eight appearance after starting the program in 1991 with no scholarship money.  The Eagles finished second in the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference after claiming the title a year ago.   Victories over Edinboro, Clarion, California (Pa.) and West Virginia Wesleyan highlight the season.

Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year
Mark Rosen, Northern Michigan

    Despite the loss of two-time AVCA Player of the Year Liu Jun, the Wildcats (34-2) held down the No. 1 spot in the AVCA Division II Coaches Poll for the majority of the season and have advanced to their seventh consecutive Elite Eight appearance.  NMU defeated Cal State Bakersfield, North Alabama, Northwood, Minnesota-Duluth and IPFW during the regular season.

North Central Region Coach of the Year
Mary Byrne, South Dakota State

    Byrne guided the Jackrabbits (26-9) to their first-ever NCAA tournament appearance, defeating top-seed Augustana in the first round, after finishing fourth in the North Central Conference.  SDSU defeated Augustana, North Dakota State, Minnesota-Duluth, Northern Colorado and Wayne State (Neb.) this year.

Northeast Region Coach of the Year
Teri Tiso, Stony Brook

    One year before moving to Division I, Tiso led the Seawolves (30-8) to their best-ever season.  Victories over regionally-ranked and NCAA tournament qualifiers Dowling and Pace highlight the year.  This season, her 24th year of coaching, Tiso recorded her 600th career.

Northwest Region Coach of the Year
Frank Lavrisha, Regis

    The Rangers (32-3) have posted their best record in school history heading into their first Elite Eight appearance since 1993.  Regis has victories over Colorado Christian, The Met, Northern Colorado, Nebraska-Kearney and West Texas A&M this season. The Rangers claimed the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference title with a 17-1 record.

South Region Coach of the Year
Dave Nichols, Barry

    The Buccaneers (26-4) have won 26 of their last 28 matches after starting the season 0-2.  Barry handed top-ranked Tampa its two setbacks of the season, along with wins over Augustana, South Dakota State, Florida Southern and New Haven.  Barry is in its fourth consecutive NCAA tournament after claiming the title in 1995.

South Central Region Coach of the Year
Debbie Hendricks, West Texas A&M

    Hendricks has led the Buffs (34-3) back into national prominence with victories over Central Missouri State, Colorado Christian, Cal Poly Pomona, Northern Colorado and Colorado Christian.  West Texas claimed its second consecutive Lone Star Conference title with a perfect 12-0 record and has advanced to the Elite Eight for the first time since 1992.

Southwest Region Coach of the Year
John Price, Cal State Bakersfield

    In his first season at CSUB, Price has continued the Roadrunnersâ (26-3) history of success as they claimed their seventh consecutive California Collegiate Athletic Association title.  On the year, Bakersfield has wins over Northern Michigan, North Alabama, Regis, Cal Poly Pomona, Cal State Los Angeles and UC Riverside.  The Roadrunners have the most NCAA tournament wins of any active Division II program (23); along with five consecutive Elite Eight appearances.

< back