1997 Tachikara/AVCA NAIA Regional Coaches of the Year


< back

1997 Tachikara/AVCA NAIA Region Coaches of the Year

Far West Region Coach of the Year
Robin Davis, Biola University

    Davis led Biola to the NAIA National Tournament where the Lady Eagles finished second.  Biola finished third in the Far West Region and ended the 1997 campaign with a 31-6 record, its best finish since 1985.  Both losses at the national championship came from eventual champion BYU-Hawaii.

Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year
Angie Fincannon, Taylor University

    Taylor reached the quarterfinals in this year's championship tournament in just its second-ever postseason appearance.  Fincannon's Lady Trojans won the Great Lakes Region championship, entered postseason play as the No. 5 seed and finished the 1997 season 48-3.

Great Plains Region Coach of the Year
Dave Moody, Dickinson State University

    Dickinson State is one of two teams to enter the championship tournament after an undefeated regular season.  Moody's Blue Hawks claimed the Great Plains Region tournament championship with a record of 38-0 and ended the season 38-4 overall.  It was DSU's first-ever national championship appearance.

Hawai'i Region Coach of the Year
Wilfred Navalta, Brigham Young University-Hawaii

    With Navalta at the helm, Brigham Young returned to the NAIA Championship Tournament for the fourth consecutive year, entering as the No. 1 seed and finishing as champions.  The Seasiders finished the season undefeated with a 32-0 overall record.

Mid-South Region Coach of the Year
Susie Toomey, King College

    Toomey led King to a Mid-South Region Tournament second-place finish.  The Lady Tornado was the No. 1 seed in the regional tournament and finished the 1997 season 38-2 overall.

Midwest Region Co-Coaches of the Year
Susan and Wayne Kreklow, Columbia College (Mo.)

    The Kreklows led Columbia College to a 43-3 overall record, a No. 2 ranking and its fourth consecutive NAIA National Tournament appearance where the Cougars finished the season tied for fifth place.  Along the way, the coaching duo picked up career victory No. 350 and the Midwest Region Tournament championship.  Two of CC's losses were against eventual champion BYU-Hawaii.

Northeast Region Coach of the Year
Tammy Swearingen, Westminster College (Pa.)

    With Swearingen's leadership, Westminster competed in its first ever championship tournament.  The Lady Titans ended the season with a 31-8 record and a Northeast Region Tournament championship.

Pacific Northwest Region Coach of the Year
Kip Yoshimura, Lewis-Clark State College

    Yoshimura led Lewis-Clark to its fifth all-time and second straight championship tournament appearance.  The Warriors were seeded second in the Pacific Northwest Region Tournament and finished as regional runner-up.  L-C State finished the season with a 28-8 record.

Southeast Region Coach of the Year
Martin Najarro, St. Thomas University

    St. Thomas made its second-ever and second-consecutive NAIA National Tournament appearance this season with Najarro at the helm.  The Bobcats finished the year with a record of 35-7 and their second-straight Southeast Region Tournament championship.

Southwest Region Coach of the Year
Mark Papich, University of the Incarnate Word

    Papich led Incarnate Word to its first-ever championship tournament appearance and a Southwest Region Tournament championship.  The Crusaders captured the Southwest title as the No. 2 seed in the tournament.  UIW ended the season with a 32-12 overall record.

< back