AVCA Division I National Player of the Year

Micha Hancock - Penn State University

Oklahoma City, Okla. (December 19, 2014) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that Penn State University senior setter Micha Hancock has been selected as the 2014 AVCA Division I Player of the Year. The award was presented this afternoon at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet, which was held in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma as part of the 2014 AVCA Annual Convention.

Hancock has had quite a decorated career, as she earlier this week was recognized as an AVCA DI First Team All-American for the third consecutive season. She has also received All-Big Ten honors in each of her four years, and earlier this season recorded her second career AVCA DI National Player of the Week award. Her setting prowess was on prominent display, and she was named Big Ten Setter of the Week on five different occasions this season alone.

She will finish her career at Penn State on top of both the school and conference all-time lists for career service aces, with 378 heading into the semifinals. Her single-season total of 124 aces (thus far) is also a school and conference record. She leads the nation in those statistical categories, and averages 1.03 service aces per set. She is an enormous asset to the Penn State offense, posting an average of 11.53 assists per set (10th nationally). She has helped guide the offense to a .348 hitting percentage, which ranks first in the nation and topped the conference during the regular season.

The semifinals appearance will be the seventh out of the past eight years for the Nittany Lions, thanks in no small part to Hancock's ability to make her teammates better, as she has helped pace Penn State's top three hitters to a .365 hitting percentage or higher this year. An appearance in the NCAA semifinals in her home state of Oklahoma perfectly caps off a distinguished collegiate career.

AVCA Division I National Players of the Year
2014: Micha Hancock, Penn State University
2013: Krista Vansant, University of Washington
2012: Alaina Bergsma, University of Oregon
2011: Alex Jupiter, University of Southern California
2010: Carli Lloyd, University of California, Berkeley
2009: Megan Hodge, Penn State University
2008: Nicole Fawcett, Penn State University
2007: Foluke Akinradewo, Stanford University
2006: Sarah Pavan, University of Nebraska
2005: Christina Houghtelling, University of Nebraska
2004: Stacey Gordon, Ohio State University; Ogonna Nnamani, Stanford University
2003: Kim Willoughby, University of Hawai'i
2002: Logan Tom, Stanford University
2001: Logan Tom, Stanford University
2000: Greichaly Cepero, University of Nebraska
1999: Lauren Cacciamani, Penn State University; Kerri Walsh, Stanford University
1998: Misty May, Long Beach State University
1997: Misty May, Long Beach State University
1996: Angelica Llungquist, University of Hawai'i
1995: Cary Wendell, Stanford University; Allison Weston, University of Nebraska
1994: Laura Davis, Ohio State Universtiy
1993: Danielle Scott; Long Beach State University
1992: Natalie Williams, UCLA
1991: Antoinette White; Long Beach State University
1990: Bev Oden; Stanford University
1989: Tara Cross, Long Beach State University; Tonya Sanders-Williams, University of Hawai'i
1988: Tara Cross, Long Beach State University
1987: Tonya Sanders-Williams, University of Hawai'i
1986: Mariliisa Salmi, Brigham Yong University
1985: Kim Oden, Stanford University