AVCA Division I National Player of the Year


AVCA Division I National Player of the Year: Samantha Bricio, USC

Omaha, Neb. (December 18, 2015) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that University of Southern California senior outside hitter Samantha Bricio has been selected as the 2015 AVCA Division I Player of the Year. The award was presented this afternoon at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet, which was held in Omaha, Nebraska as part of the 2015 AVCA Convention.

Samantha Bricio's Fast Facts

- Second AVCA Player of the Year in program history (Alex Jupiter: 2011).
- Pac-12 Player of the Year, just the third Trojan to receive the honor.
- Joins April Ross as the only players to be named the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and Player of the Year.
- Bricio is also the 18th player in Pac-12 history to be named to the all-conference teams four consecutive years.
- Marks the third consecutive AVCA All-American award, earning second-team recognition in both 2013 and 2014.
- Named as the espnW National Player of the Year, becoming the only USC player to receive the honor.
- Recorded 18 double-doubles this season, increasing her career total to 58 over the span of her four years.
- For the year, she notched a remarkable 668 kills and 803 points, leading her team in both categories.
- Recorded 89 service aces and 352 digs, finishing first and second on her team in those respective categories.
- Finished her time at USC as the career leader in attacks, kills, service aces and points.
- Named the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week six times.



Southern California Head Coach Mick Haley on their opponents when Bricio is ready to serve (as told to the Los Angeles Daily News)...

"They turn green and quit playing."

AVCA Division I National Players of the Year
2015: Samantha Bricio, University of Southern California
2014: Micha Hancock, Penn State University
2013: Krista Vansant, University of Washington
2012: Alaina Bergsma, University of Oregon
2011: Alex Jupiter, University of Southern California
2010: Carli Lloyd, University of California, Berkeley
2009: Megan Hodge, Penn State University
2008: Nicole Fawcett, Penn State University
2007: Foluke Akinradewo, Stanford University
2006: Sarah Pavan, University of Nebraska
2005: Christina Houghtelling, University of Nebraska
2004: Stacey Gordon, Ohio State University; Ogonna Nnamani, Stanford University
2003: Kim Willoughby, University of Hawai'i
2002: Logan Tom, Stanford University
2001: Logan Tom, Stanford University
2000: Greichaly Cepero, University of Nebraska
1999: Lauren Cacciamani, Penn State University; Kerri Walsh, Stanford University
1998: Misty May, Long Beach State University
1997: Misty May, Long Beach State University
1996: Angelica Llungquist, University of Hawai'i
1995: Cary Wendell, Stanford University; Allison Weston, University of Nebraska
1994: Laura Davis, Ohio State Universtiy
1993: Danielle Scott; Long Beach State University
1992: Natalie Williams, UCLA
1991: Antoinette White; Long Beach State University
1990: Bev Oden; Stanford University
1989: Tara Cross, Long Beach State University; Tonya Sanders-Williams, University of Hawai'i
1988: Tara Cross, Long Beach State University
1987: Tonya Sanders-Williams, University of Hawai'i
1986: Mariliisa Salmi, Brigham Yong University
1985: Kim Oden, Stanford University