Men's Division I-II National Coach of the Year

John Kosty - Stanford University
2010 AVCA Division I-II Men's National Coach of the Year


LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 26, 2010) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that Stanford University head men's volleyball coach John Kosty has been selected as the 2010 AVCA Division I-II Men's National Coach of the Year, while Loyola University Chicago assistant coach Matt Martin has been tabbed the inaugural AVCA Division I-II Men's National Assistant Coach of the Year.


In his fourth season as head coach, Kosty guided Stanford to its first NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship since 1997, behind a 22-6 record in 2010.  The Cardinal captured the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) regular season title with a 16-6 league mark and earned the No. 1 seed for the MPSF tournament. Stanford powered past UC Irvine, 3-1, in the event's quarterfinals and whitewashed Hawai'i in the semifinals, before handing Cal State Northridge a 3-0 setback to claim the tournament title and earn the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship.


The Kosty-led Cardinal's quest for the program's second national title was not over there. Top-seeded Stanford toppled No. 4 seed Ohio State in sweeping fashion to open the 2010 NCAA Men's Volleyball Championships, setting up a matchup with No. 3 seed Penn State in the title bout. With Kosty's guidance, the Cardinal, who hosted the event, blanked the Nittany Lions, allowing Stanford to hoist the coveted trophy on their home court.


Stanford spent eight weeks of the season ranked atop the AVCA Division I-II Men's Coaches Top 15 Poll and never held a spot lower than No. 5 throughout the campaign. In addition, Kosty mentored four AVCA All-Americans in 2010, including AVCA Division I-II Men's National Player of the Year, Kawika Shoji.


In his first season at the helm, Kosty's squad turned in a 3-25 record and the taskmaster was able to gradually build his program each year since, successfully completing a "worst to first" journey. During his tenure as head coach, Kosty has compiled a 62-53 overall mark. Before taking over the reins of the program, Kosty served as both assistant coach (1991-2004) and associate head coach (2004-06).


Martin recently completed his third season as an assistant coach with Loyola-Chicago. He helped the Ramblers to a 20-6 record in 2010, including a 10-2 mark in Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (MIVA) action, and guided the squad to a runner-up performance in the MIVA tournament. Loyola-Chicago was ranked every AVCA Division I-II Men's Coaches Top 15 Poll of the season, excluding the Preseason Poll, where it reached as high as No. 11 during the campaign.


Both coaches will be formally presented their awards on December 16 in Kansas City, Mo., at the 2010 jostens Coaches Honors Luncheon. The luncheon is held in conjunction with the 2010 AVCA Annual Convention.


AVCA Division I-II National Coach of the Year (prior to 2004, all Divisions competed for this honor)


2010: John Kosty, Stanford

2009: Bill Ferguson, Southern California

2008: Mark Pavlik, Penn State

2007: Arnie Ball, IPFW

2006: John Speraw, UC Irvine

2005: Marv Dunphy, Pepperdine

2004: Alan Knipe, Long Beach State

2003: Dave Deuser, Lewis

2002: Mike Wilton, Hawai'i

2001: Carl McGown, BYU

2000: Peter Hanson, Ohio State

1999: Carl McGown, BYU

1998: Al Scates, UCLA

1997: Ruben Nieves, Stanford

1996: Al Scates, UCLA

1995: Don Shondell, Ball State

1994: Tom Peterson, Penn State

1993: Al Scates, UCLA

1992: Ruben Nieves, Stanford

1991: Ray Ratelle, Long Beach State


Jostens Coaches Honors Luncheon
December 19, 2013
Washington State Convention Center
World League Logo