AVCA Division III National Player of the Year


Maggie Kamp - Calvin College 


LEXINGTON, Ky. (November 20, 2014) - Calvin College outside hitter Maggie Kamp has been selected as the 2014 American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Division III Player of the Year. The award was announced this evening at the NCAA Division III awards banquet in Newport News, VA, which was held in conjunction with the 2014 NCAA Division III National Championship to be held on the campus of Christopher Newport.

A native of Orland Park, IL and a graduate of Chicago Christian High School, Kamp has turned in an exceptional season in leading her team to a fourth consecutive Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association tournament championship. Calvin also claimed a share of the 2014 MIAA regular season championship for the fifth straight year.

An outside hitter, the 6-2 Kamp is averaging 4.44 kills-per-set entering the DIII National Championship quarterfinals, with a hitting percentage of .297. A balanced player, Kamp is also averaging 2.68 digs-per-set and has tallied 26 service aces on the year. Earlier this month, she was recognized as the MIAA's Most Valuable Player in addition to being placed on the All-MIAA First Team for the second time. She was also honored as the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA DIII Regional hosted by Carthage College. Kamp was also awarded a spot on the AVCA DIII Great Lakes All-Region team for the second straight year.

Member of an impressive volleyball family, the junior was recognized as an AVCA DIII First Team All-American for the second consecutive season.

Kamp was a three-time MIAA Player of the Week during the 2014 season, and was named to the Clarkson Classic All-Tournament team. She finished conference play leading the MIAA in kills-per-set and finished fourth in hitting percentage. In a five-set win over Hope in the MIAA Tournament Championship, Kamp recorded 22 kills in helping her team to the crown.

Calvin Head Coach Amber Warners has now coached four consecutive national players of the year after sisters Rebecca and Lizzie Kamp each took home the honor in 2011 and 2012, respectively, and setter Megan Rietema received the award in 2013.



AVCA Division III National Players of the Year

2014 Maggie Kamp, Calvin College 

2013 Megan Rietema, Calvin College

2012 Lizzie Kamp, Calvin College

2011 Rebecca Kamp, Calvin College

2010 Amelia McCall, Emory University

2009 Christina Cahoon, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

2008 Amber Thomas, Juniata College

2007 Amber Thomas, Juniata College

2006 Stephanie Kines, Juniata College

2005 Courtney Rose, Emory University
2004 Carli Dale, Juniata College
2003 Amy Smith, University of La Verne
2002 Rebecca Rotello, Washington University in St. Louis
2001 Allison Erickson, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
2000 Candace Wilson, Central College
1999 Abbie Brown, Central College
1998 Abbie Brown, Central College
1997 Jennifer Martz, Washington University in St. Louis
1996 Amy Ward, Wisconsin-Oshkosh
1995 Shelley Swan, Washington University in St. Louis
1994 Amy Albers, Washington University in St. Louis
1993 Amy Albers, Washington University in St. Louis
1992 Lisa Becker, Washington University in St. Louis
        Anastasia Nikas, Stony Brook University
1991 Elizabeth Tan, UC San Diego
1990 Kathy Bersett, Washington University in St. Louis
1989 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University in St. Louis
1988 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University in St. Louis
1987 Janet Hughes, UC San Diego
1986 Anne Westerkamp, Benedictine University
1985 Sherri Petrick, Benedictine University