AVCA National High School Coach of the Year Awards


Nancy Dorsey and Jean Kesterson Named National High School Coaches of the Year


LEXINGTON, KY. (November 24, 2015) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that Nancy Dorsey, head girls volleyball coach at St. James Academy in Lenexa, KS, and Jean Kesterson, head girls volleyball coach at Cathedral High School in Indianapolis, IN, have been selected as the 2015 AVCA National High School Coaches of the Year.

The AVCA will formally present the National High School Coach of the Year awards to Dorsey and Kesterson at the 2015 Jostens Coaches Honors Luncheon in Omaha, NE on Thursday, December 17th. The luncheon is held in conjunction with the 2015 AVCA Convention.

As a result of winning AVCA National Coach of the Year honors, the two coaches will lead Team East and Team West in the eighth annual Under Armour All-America Volleyball Match & Skills Challenge, Friday, December 18th at CenturyLink Center. Tickets for the Under Armour All-America Volleyball Match & Skills Challenge are on sale now through Ticketmaster.


Nancy Dorsey

  • Head coach since the school opened its doors in 2005.
  • 2015 5A State Champions (Kansas) after defeating Aquinas in a sweep.
  • Finished the season with a 43-1 overall record.
  • Their only loss of the season came in the first match, ending 2015 winning 43 in a row.
  • Carries a No. 5 national ranking in the MaxPreps XCellent 25 Rankings and No. 1 in the state.
  • Two players (Jenna Gray and Audriana Fitzmorris) named to the Under Armour All-America First-Team.
  • Career record of 453-30.
  • Dorsey played volleyball at the University of Kansas as an outside hitter.


"First and foremost, I'm a teacher," Dorsey said to Volleyball Magazine. "Part of my job is to teach my players that there is nothing they can't do. When our girls leave this program, I want them to be strong, confident young women. If they believe that anything is possible for them, then we are successful."


Jean Kesterson

  • Head coach since 1990.
  • Won the 4A State Title (Indiana) after sweeping Carroll.
  • Their 36-0 record in 2015 was the program's first undefeated season.
  • Nine players on this team are committed to NCAA Division I Institutions, with six seniors signing their National Letter of Intent.
  • Libero Kendall White was named an Under Armour Second-Team All-American.
  • Four Irish players named ICGSA Class 4A First-Team All-State.
  • Kesterson selected Class 4A South Coach of the Year.
  • End the season ranked No. 1 in the country (MaxPreps XCellent 25 Rankings).


"It's been a gift coaching this team," Kesterson told the IndyStar. "I've been coaching for 40 years, and this team has been the closest team I've been a part of. They really care about each other. They love to play the game of volleyball."