AVCA Division I National Player of the Year

Krista Vansant- University of Washington

SEATTLE, Wash. (December 20, 2013) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that University of Washington junior outside hitter has been selected as the 2013 AVCA Division I Player of the Year.  The award was presented this afternoon at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet presented by Northwestern Mutual, which was held in Seattle, Washington as part of the 2013 AVCA Annual Convention.


It was another impressive season for Vansant, who this season was named the Pac-12 Player of the Year. The junior led Washington to the Pac-12 title this year and was one of four Huskies named to the All-Pac-12 Team.  Using her powerful right arm, Vansant led her Huskies all of the way to the NCAA Semifinals and a top-10 ranking in the AVCA Coaches Poll through the entirety of the season.  In the quarterfinals against Southern California, the two-time AVCA All-American smashed 38 kills and tallied 30 digs on her way to being named the Los Angeles Region’s Most Outstanding Player.


Entering yesterday’s match against Penn State, the California native ranked third in the Pac-12 in kills per set (4.46), sixth in service aces per set (0.29) and second in points per set (5.14).  She was named Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week three times this season and Defensive Player of the Week and Sports Imports/AVCA Player of the Week once. 


AVCA Division I National Players of the Year

2013: Krista Vansant, University of Washington

2012: Alaina Bergsma, University of Oregon

2011: Alex Jupiter, University of Southern California

2010: Carli Lloyd, University of California, Berkeley

2009: Megan Hodge, Penn State University

2008: Nicole Fawcett, Penn State University

2007: Foluke Akinradewo, Stanford University

2006: Sarah Pavan, University of Nebraska

2005: Christina Houghtelling, University of Nebraska

2004: Stacey Gordon, Ohio State University; Ogonna Nnamani, Stanford University

2003: Kim Willoughby, University of Hawai'i

2002: Logan Tom, Stanford University

2001: Logan Tom, Stanford University

2000: Greichaly Cepero, University of Nebraska

1999: Lauren Cacciamani, Penn State University; Kerri Walsh, Stanford University

1998: Misty May, Long Beach State University

1997: Misty May, Long Beach State University

1996: Angelica Llungquist, University of Hawai'i

1995: Cary Wendell, Stanford University; Allison Weston, University of Nebraska

1994: Laura Davis, Ohio State Universtiy

1993: Danielle Scott; Long Beach State University

1992: Natalie Williams, UCLA

1991: Antoinette White; Long Beach State University

1990: Bev Oden; Stanford University

1989: Tara Cross, Long Beach State University; Tonya Sanders-Williams, University of Hawai'i

1988: Tara Cross, Long Beach State University

1987: Tonya Sanders-Williams, University of Hawai'i

1986: Mariliisa Salmi, Brigham Yong University

1985: Kim Oden, Stanford University