AVCA Division II National Player of the Year


Kate Lange - University of Minnesota Duluth


Cedar Rapids, Iowa. (Dec. 11, 2013) -The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that University of Minnesota Duluth senior outside hitter Kate Lange has been selected as the 2013 AVCA Division II National Player of the Year.

Lange's strong attacking skills helped guide the Bulldogs to a 33-3 overall record this season, a record number of wins for the program under head coach Jim Boos. Currently leading the nation in kills per set and points per set, Lange posted 24 kills to lead all players in the Central Region finals against Concordia-St. Paul. She ended her career with a total of 2,078 kills.


The 6-1 senior from Hibbing, Minn. has had a stellar collegiate career, earning recognition as an AVCA First-Team All-American in 2011, 2012 and 2013. Her impressive career began early, as she saw action in all 29 matches during her freshman season and earned a full-time starting role in her sophomore and junior campaigns. She will leave Minnesota-Duluth as the school's all-time leader in attacking.


2013 was a year full of accolades for Lange, as she was tabbed the Sports Imports/AVCA National Player of the Week on two separate occasions, earning the recognition in the first (Sept. 10) and last (Nov. 19) weeks of the season. She was also named as the Daktronics Central Region Player of the Year. For the second consecutive season, Lange was recognized as the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year, leading the league with 314 kills in conference play, as well as posting a rankings-topping 5.32 kills per set. She has been recognized as an All-NSIC performer in each of her four seasons at Minnesota-Duluth.


Lange produced some of her best matches against top competition. In her matches during the week of November 19th, Lange recorded a 12-kill, 11-dig, two-block performance in the sweep over Minnesota State, following that up with one of the best performances of her career against then-No. 1 Concordia-St. Paul. In five sets against one of the top defensive teams in the country, she nailed 31 kills on .379 hitting and registered a double-double adding 13 digs.


The formal presentation of the 2013 AVCA Division II National Player of the Year will be made Friday, December 20th in Seattle, Wash at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet Presented by Northwestern Mutual. The banquet is held in conjunction with the 2013 AVCA Annual Convention.


Division II AVCA National Players of the Year

2013: Kate Lange, University of Minnesota Duluth
2012: Danielle Selkridge, The University of Tampa
2011: Samantha Middleborn, Cal State San Bernardino
2010: Samantha Middleborn, Cal State San Bernardino
2009: Maggie McNamara, Concordia-St. Paul
2008: Maggie McNamara, Concordia-St. Paul
2007: Vicky Braegelmann, Minnesota Duluth
2006: Vicky Braegelmann, Minnesota Duluth; Li YiZhi, Lock Haven
2005: Erin Gudmundson, Univ. of Nebraska-Kearney
2004: Brianna Harris, Cal State San Bernardino
2003: Kim Morohunfola, Cal State San Bernardino
2002: Erin Deffenbaugh, Northern Colorado
2001: Shauna Sturm, South Dakota State
2000: Kari Peterson, Augustana (S.D.)
1999: Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M
1998: Melinda Almazan, Regis
1997: Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M
1996: Liu Jun, Northern Michigan
1995: Liu Jun, Northern Michigan
1994: Christy Wieneke, Cal State Bakersfield
1993: Stacey Metro, Northern Michigan
1992: Stacey Metro, Northern Michigan
1991: Ana Cristina Pereira, West Texas A&M
1990: Becky Belland, Central Missouri State
1989: Sheri Benson, UC Riverside
1988: Janet Cobbs, North Dakota State
1987: Angela Brinton, Cal State-Northridge
1986: Annie Kniss, UC Riverside
1985: Lynda Johnson, Portland State


Show All (archives)