AVCA Men's National Player of The Year Awards


Division I-II Player of the Year | Division III Player of the Year | NAIA Player of the Year 


AVCA Division I-II Men's National Player of the Year

Thomas Jaeschke - Loyola University Chicago


Stanford, Calif. (May 6, 2015) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is pleased to announce that Loyola University Chicago outside hitter Thomas Jaeschke has been named the 2015 AVCA Men's Division I-II National Player of the Year.

The presentation was made at the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship Banquet on the campus of the Stanford University. The banquet was held in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Volleyball Tournament at Maples Pavilion at Stanford.


2015 Stats

K/S      Hitting %   Service Aces     D/S        B/S
4.20      .392                 49                 2.02      0.55 


Fast Facts

First ever Rambler to win the AVCA Player of the Year

Just the third non-MPSF winner (both from Penn State)

Two-time AVCA First-Team All-American

MIVA Player of the Year

Off The Block/Springbak Inc. National Server of the Year

Fifth in nation in kills per set (4.20) and services aces per set (0.57)

Smashed a match-high 12 kills and hit .391 in NCAA play-in match against Pfeiffer

Had a 20-kill, seven-dig performance while hitting .486 in the MIVA Championship Match against top-seeded Lewis



From Jaeschke on coming back down 19-24 in the second set against Pfeiffer...

"I think it showed a lot about our team, but the reality is we shouldn't have been in that spot. I think it was good to pull out of it and work hard, but I think we need to be smarter and not put ourselves in that position."


2015: Thomas Jaeschke (Loyola-Chicago)
2014: Taylor Sander (BYU)
2013: Taylor Crabb (Long Beach State)
2012: Tony Ciarelli (USC)
2011: Murphy Troy (USC)
2010: Kawika Shoji (Stanford)
2009: Paul Carroll (Pepperdine)
2008: Matt Anderson (Penn State), Paul Lotman (Long Beach State)
2007: Jonathan Winder (Pepperdine)
2006: Jayson Jablonsky (UC Irvine)
2005: Sean Rooney (Pepperdine)
2004: Carlos Moreno (BYU)
2003: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)
2002: Brad Keenan (Pepperdine)
2001: Costas Theocharidis (Hawai'i)
2000: Donald Suxho (USC)
1999: George Roumain (Pepperdine)
1998: George Roumain (Pepperdine)
1997: Ivan Contreras (Penn State)
1996: Yuval Katz (Hawai'i), Stein Metzger (UCLA)
1995: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)
1994: Jeff Nygaard (UCLA)
1993: Canyon Ceman (Stanford)
1992: Brent Hilliard (Long Beach State)
1991: Bryan Ivie (USC)


2015 AVCA Men's Division III National Player of the Year

David Evans - Stevens Institute of Technology

Hoboken, N.J. (April 23, 2015) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce that Stevens Institute of Technology senior outside hitter David Evans has been named the 2015 Men's Division III National Player of the Year.

The presentation was made at the NCAA Division III Men's Volleyball Championship Banquet in Hoboken, N.J. The banquet was held in conjunction with the NCAA Division III Men's Volleyball Championship, to be played April 24-26 on the campus of the Stevens Institute of Technology.


2015 Stats

K/S      Hitting %   SA      D/S

3.63    .362             30      1.53


Fast Facts
Two-time AVCA All-American (second team in 2012)
One of four AVCA All-Americans in this year's class on the Ducks
Second on the team with 272 kills and tied for first with 30 service aces
Named United Volleyball Conference Player of the Year
Had a season-high 23 kills on .556 hitting against now-No. 13 Rutgers-Newark
In that match, recorded his 1,000th career kill
Second all-time AVCA Player of the Year award for Stevens (2009: Andrew Cranford)



Evans on taking last year off...
"Ryan Seifert and I took last year off and the weight room really helped us. It's been a blessing to come back to such a deep team. Playing with all of these guys is such a privilege."


Evans on handling team depth...
"The practices when they're just as hard if not harder than the games are huge because everyone is trying to show they deserve to be on the court."


AVCA Division III Men's National Player of the Year


2015: David Evans, Stevens Institute of Technology 

2014: Jimmy O'Leary, Springfield College

2013:  EJ Wells-Spicer, Nazareth College

2012: Randy Hansen, Carthage College

2011 Cal Palumbo, Springfield College

2010 AJ Nally, Springfield College

2009 Andrew Cranford, Stevens Institute of Technology

2008 Bryan Shires, UC Santa Cruz

2007 Matt Werle, Juniata College

2006 Chris Schmidt, New York University

2005 Ricky Ziegler, Juniata College

2004 Kenny Eiser, Juniata College


2015 AVCA NAIA Men's National Player of the Year


Caio Souza  - Park University 


ST. LOUIS, Mo. (April 22, 2015) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce Park University Middle Blocker Caio Souza as the 2015 NAIA Men's National Player of the Year.

2015 Stats

SP  K/S   Hitting %   B/S    PTS/S
97   2.5     0.477        1.4       3.3


Fast Facts

First-Team All-Conference and Academic All-Conference
Places first in the nation in blocks per set and helped Park also be the NAIA's top blocking team (3.23)
Similar with hitting percentage, Souza is tops in that category as is Park (.300)
Selected the NAIA Player of the Week on March 2 and March 24
Pirates claim No. 2 seed in the NAIA Men's Volleyball National Invitational Tournament



Head Coach Mike Talamantes: "Caio is one of the best at putting the ball away when he gets opportunities. He's also one of the best you'll see at the net. He has a nose for the ball and is able to use his length to really disrupt opposing hitters. Even if he doesn't get a block, he alters a lot of attacks, and that helps our defense as well as setting up our offense for good situations."


2015 - Caio Souza, Park University
2014 - Pedro Cardoso, Grand View University
2013 - Naseri Tumanuvao, Concordia University Irvine
2012 - Dan Dowjotas, St. Ambrose University
2011 - Levi Cabral, California Baptist University
2010 - Blair Penner, California Baptist University

Show All (archives)