AVCA Two-Year College National Player of the Year

Annie Mitchem- Irvine Valley College


LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association is pleased to announce Irvine Valley College freshman middle blocker Annie Mitchem as its 2013 AVCA Two Year College National Player of the Year.

Mitchem helped lead the Lasers to a 24-2 overall record and their first State Championships since 2009 when they defeated Santa Barbara City.  In that match, the Texas native smashed a team-high 20 kills, had eight blocks and recorded a .444 hitting percentage.  Ranked second in the state in the last regular season poll, Irvine Valley was one of two schools from Southern California to compete in the CCCAA Championship.

The Orange East Conference Player of the Year dominated the net in her first year.  She ended the season ranked first in hitting percentage (.436) and blocks per set (1.61) while placing second in kills (309) and third in kills per set (3.64) as Irvine Valley went a perfect 14-0 in conference play.  It was because of her play in the middle the Lasers held their conference opponents to just a .190 hitting percentage, while IVC hit a robust .292.

Mitchem becomes the first player from the CCCAA to win AVCA Two Year College Player of the Year since 2003, when Nevena Siljegovic from Moorpark College took home the honor.

The formal presentation of the AVCA Two Year College National Player of the Year will be made Dec. 20th in Seattle, Washington at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet held in conjunction with the 2013 AVCA Annual Convention and NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball National Championships.


AVCA Two-Year Colleges National Players of the Year

2013:  Annie Mitchem (Irvine Valley College) 

2012:  Keani Passi (Southern Idaho) 

2011:  Xiao Liang (Iowa Lakes) 

2010: Roslandy Acosta (Cowley County)

2009: Yiting Cao (Illinois Central)

2008: Kayla Schmidt (Blinn)

2007: Soriana Pacheco (Western Nebraska)

2006: Juliana Paz (Iowa Western)

2005: JoAnna Kaczor (Southern Idaho)

2004: Keila Oliviera (Miami-Dade)

2003: Nevena Siljegovic (Moorpark)

2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami-Dade)

2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)

2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)

1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)

1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)

1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)

1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)

1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)

1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)

1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)

1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)

1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)

1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)

1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)

1987: Sonia Trevino (San Jacinto-Central Campus)

Show All (archives)