AVCA Hall of Famers Key Part of First Southern Calif. Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame

FOR RELEASE: Wednesday, January 4, 2017
CONTACT: SCIVBHOF@AmericanSportsCenters.com 714-917-3602

Six AVCA Hall of Fame selections are a key part of the first Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame (SCIVBHOF) induction class with the ceremonies on May 7 at the Highway 39 Event Center in Anaheim. The HOF will be housed at the American Sports Centers in Anaheim, the home of the USA Men’s and Women’s National Teams through the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

The six AVCA HOF picks for the SCIVBHOF are 2020 USA Women’s National Team Coach and UCLA four-time All-American Karch Kiraly, Pepperdine Men’s Volleyball Coach Marv Dunphy, former UCLA Men’s Head Coach Al Scates, former USC AIAW championship player and long-time Long Beach State Assistant Coach Debbie Green, two-time Hawaii NCAA championship player and current San Diego State Women’s Head Coach Deitre Collins-Parker, and a member of the first AVCA Hall of Fame class and long-time UCLA Women’s Head Coach Andy Banachowski.

“The AVCA has been a significant part of the development of college volleyball and we are very happy that the organization is well represented with the first Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame class,” said Mike Gallups, President of American Sports Centers in Anaheim.

Among the 25 inductees there are over 100 combined Olympic medals, NCAA, AIAW & USVBA Titles and numerous United States Volleyball Association (USAV) honors from the 1950s into the 2000s.


Andy Banachowski
Laurel Brassey Iversen
Craig Buck
Deitre Collins-Parker
Tara Cross-Battle
Bob Ctvrtlik
Marv Dunphy
Dusty Dvorak
Rolf Engen
Debbie Green
Kathy Gregory
Bryan Ivie
Karch Kiraly
Ricci Luyties
Chris Marlowe
Misty May-Treanor
Kim Oden
Mike O’Hara
Doug Partie
Al Scates
Gene Selznick
Sinjin Smith
Jeff Stork
Steve Timmons
Paula Weishoff