TeamSnap/AVCA Two-Year College
National Player of the Year

Massiel Matos - Miami Dade College 

Photo Courtesy Tom Hagerty, Polk State College

LEXINGTON, Ky. (December 8, 2017) - The American Volleyball Coaches Association is pleased to announce Miami Dade College Sophomore Outside Hitter Massiel Matos as the 2017 TeamSnap/AVCA Two-Year College National Player of the Year.

The formal presentation of the TeamSnap/AVCA Two-Year College National Player of the Year will be made Dec. 15th in Kansas City, Missouri at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet held in conjunction with the 2017 AVCA Convention and NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball National Championship.

2017 Stats

3.68 K/S, .306 Hitting %, 2.31 D/S, 0.55 B/S

Massiel Matos Fast Facts

• Second consecutive TeamSnap/AVCA National Player of the Year
• The only other players to win this award in two consecutive years are Annie Mitchem (Irvine Valley College, 2013-2014) and Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (College of Southern Idaho, 1998-1999)
• Led the Sharks to back-to-back NJCAA Division I Championships
• Had a double-double with 10 kills and 15 digs in the NJCAA Championship Match
• Won the NJCAA Tournament MVP
• Ranked third in the nation in aces per set (0.63), points per set (4.7), and eighth in kills per set (3.68)
• One of just two repeat AVCA First-Team All-Americans in this year’s class (Caitlyn Cooper, Iowa Western Community College)

AVCA Two-Year College National Players of the Year

2017: Massiel Matos (Miami Dade College)
2016: Massiel Matos (Miami Dade College)
2015: Sofi Kelemete (Parkland College)
2014: Annie Mitchem (Irvine Valley College)
2013: Annie Mitchem (Irvine Valley College)
2012: Keani Passi (Southern Idaho)
2011: Xiao Liang (Iowa Lakes)
2010: Roslandy Acosta (Cowley County)
2009: Yiting Cao (Illinois Central)
2008: Kayla Schmidt (Blinn)
2007: Soriana Pacheco (Western Nebraska)
2006: Juliana Paz (Iowa Western)
2005: JoAnna Kaczor (Southern Idaho)
2004: Keila Oliviera (Miami Dade)
2003: Nevena Siljegovic (Moorpark)
2002: Madelaynne Montano (Miami Dade)
2001: Juliana Escobar (Barton County)
2000: Stephanie Martin (Southern Idaho)
1999: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)
1998: Fabiana Spisso de Abreu (Southern Idaho)
1997: Hai Yan (Southern Idaho)
1996: Jenni Roselli (Spokane Falls)
1995: Paula Araujo (Southern Idaho)
1994: Katianne Simonetti (Southern Idaho)
1993: Jessica Lee (Golden West)
1992: Pele Baker (Eastern Arizona)
1991: Hilda Gaxiola (Texas Southmost)
1990: Sandra Pena (Miami-Dade-Wolfson Campus)
1989: Kristine Cousins (Miami-Dade-South Campus)
1988: Nicole Stubbs (Schoolcraft)
1987: Sonia Trevino (San Jacinto-Central Campus)